Zucchini Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this recipe without the nuts and shredded the zucchini and apple. Also I cut the flour by 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup ground flax seed. It is delicious! My family requests it often, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
For those reporting they found this bread not very moist, it could easily be because there's a lot less oil in this recipe than there is in most recipes of this type. After a gagillion years of baking experience I stuck with what I was comfortable with and doubled (yes, DOUBLED) the amount of oil. As I expected, I was quite content with the outcome. As for the zucchini, I shredded it - I know I wouldn't have cared for biting into pieces of zucchini in a sweet muffin. I omitted the walnuts so everyone would be happy, but I believe these would be equally delicious with or without them. Half the recipe was just right for 12 gorgeous, perfectly risen and rounded muffins which I topped with demerara (aka turbinado) sugar before baking. (If you choose to make this recipe as muffins, bake them at 350 degrees 20-25 minutes) These are moist and just sweet enough, the apple lending a lot of extra flavor using zucchini alone wouldn't. While I ended up loving these, for me having to double the oil to ensure a moist muffin, particularly since this is a deviation from other, similar tried and true recipes, made this a 4, rather than 5-star recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Amazing recipe. Grate the zucchini and apple for sure. But the flavor is perfect, just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I used 1/4 cup of low-fat sour cream and 1/4 cup oil instead of the full 1/2 cup of oil. It turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Moist, but don't like chunks of zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very nice. Just chop apples quite fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
It was not as sweet as I thought it would be, but not bad. I substituted banana for apple as one reviewer suggested, but next time I will use the grated apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This came out dry. I halved the recipe for one loaf and it appeared too dense going in, so I should've known. I even shredded everything as others had suggested. Maybe at 45 mins I over baked it, I dunno. I do like the flavor though, so I will try again and add 1/2 c u/s applesauce and bake 5 mins less to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
O my goodness, this was so good! the crust was crispy and sweet and the inside soft and fluffy and perfect. The recipe is great, don't need to change anything. Chop or grate the zucchini and apple, comes out good either way. One time I was out of oil and used buttermilk, it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
i just made this bread..it was too dry when i mixed it up..i used a food chopper for the apples and zucchini and when it was all put together, it was really dry..no way it would pour..so i added a can (8 oz) of crushed pineapple..and a dash of cloves and a dash of nutmeg..this is an excellent recipe and adding the pinapple only made it better..and the moisture level was much better..this is my new favorite bread recipe..gave it four stars as i think the recipe should have been moister, but with the addition of the pineapple, i will say it is a 5..i also added a handful of raisen that i had left in the fridg..very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States