Zucchini and Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Easy, good flavor! I used no salt tomato sauce since my husband has high BP. And I was short on time,so I kept it on med-high instead of low. Just remember to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My family absolutely loves this recipe. The only thing I do differently is I cut the water in half. Otherwise, exactly as stated in the recipe. With fresh zucchini from our garden, this is a fantastic recipe. We like our sauce a little sweet, so we don't mind the added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was really good. After reading everyones reviews, I didn't add any sugar and cooked the zucchini just until crisp-tender (not an hour). This was very good! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
After reading prior reviews I cut sugar out completely. Taste was great, but cooking zucchini an hour was too long as it got too mushy. Next time will do the same thing only cooking 30-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I loved this dish! I thought it was very easy and healthy! I only made a few changes....... I added more garlic because my husband and I love it!! I also added fresh mushrooms and a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I used rigatoni instead of shells because thats all I had. I also only used 1/4 cup of sugar due to what others had stated. I simmered it for 1 hr like the recipe said and it turned out wonderful! Iadded low fat parm cheese and that topped it off!!! Great dish I will make again!! PS this dish is just as good the next day! (and I am not a "left-overs" type of girl!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was sooo delicious, however by reading some of the other reviews I decided to cut the amount of sugar in half and I instantly fell in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooklynrottweiler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is fresh tasting, sweet, & spicy - had a hard time stopping myself from getting additional helpings... Instead of the tomato sauce, I used a can of diced tomatoes (undrained) and then only water as needed. Half the amount of sugar was plenty! When I have fresh garden tomatoes, I'll use those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I decided to make this in an attempt to use up some extra Zucchini we had and wow, I am impressed! Very simple to make and very, very delicious. I didn't add the sugar and only let it simmer for roughly 30 minutes and it came out great. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
We really enjoyed this! I doubled the recipe and used a bottle of spaghetti sauce in place of the tomato sauce. I omitted the sugar and cut the water down because I wanted it to be thicker. Also, I had some sliced mushrooms to use up, so I threw them in there as well. This was very tasty and hearty, yet light. I will definately be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States