Zucchini and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! I have made it three/four times since I found it with different variations, though I am rating for the recipe itself. Definitely 5 stars!!! After reading through the reviews, please take into account the cooking time of each vegetable and adjust the size you cut them accordingly. Suggestions to change it up would be: 1.) Instead of plain olive oil, try the garlic olive oil - gives it a great taste. 2.) Instead of olive oil, use Wishbone Italian dressing. 3.) Add onions, whole garlic cloves and quartered mushrooms (must be quartered as whole mushrooms give off to much moisture). 4.) Add Parmesan or Asiago cheese to the bread crumbs. 5.) Change up the bread crumbs to the Italian variety - goes great with the Italian dressing. 6.) Try panko crumbs or the Italian panko crumbs - which are fabulous in place of the bread crumbs. Thanks Jana for submitting such a great and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Made this without the pepper, and it was still excellent. The bread crumbs keep the zucchini from feeling too soft or "slimy" (as my kids say), so even the non-zucchini eaters thought this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Delicious!!! I added 1/2 cup grated Parmesan to the breadcrumbs--YUMMY!!! Thanks for a quick, great recipe that my family loves!!! xoxox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except added onions and cut the potatoes in slices, not chunks. It cooked in exactly one hour, and the flavor of the red peppers after roasting is amazing! I did not stir the vegetables at all during cooking, and I loved the way one side of the potato was extra cripsy and brown, while the other side was a bit softer, but not mushy at all. This dish is excellent and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This dish is amazing! With a hint of spice and juicy veggies. One hour of bake time was perfect for the potatos. My parents, brother and boyfriend loved it. I reccommend this dish for a family get-together. I would just decrease the amount of bread crumbs. Other then that, it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I've made this twice. The first time I baked it at 350 and it didn't get crispy enough. The second time, I used less olive oil and bread crumbs and substituted garlic powder. I'll definitely make this again. It tastes great reheated, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe is so simple and soooo good! Hard to believe you can get such a lovely flavor from so few ingredients. I've made this several times now and really enjoy it - the kids, too! I cut the veggies a bit smaller and spread them out to roast in a jelly roll pan, stirring occasionally - you can reduce the cooking time to 30-40 minutes with smaller pieces. I've served this dish with fish, meat, chicken, whatever - it can't miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My fiance and I have been looking for recipes to provide to our friend who is catering our wedding. I made this dish last night with dinner, modifying things just a bit. I added 1 medium onion, parmesan cheese (as recommended in other reviews), and used seasoned salt instead of paprika. The result was exceptional! It was a hit with everyone, including the caterer! This is one recipe that will definitely be made again and again around our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was an excellent recipe for zucchini, I just put it under the broiled for a few minutes to brown it more. Definitely will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was very, very good. The biggest surprise was that my boyfriend went crazy for it. I wasn't sure he would even eat zucchini, but he had seconds of this! Followed recipe exactly, except I used a green bell pepper since that is what I had on hand. I did also add about a 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese to the mixture. I will be making this often, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States