Zucchini and Onion Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Just a hint about zucchini: if you sprinkle salt on the grated zucchini and let it sit for about 30 minutes in a strainer it will release a LOT of excess water. Pat it with some paper towels then make the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erycca Manninen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yum, these are so good!! Even my 3 year old ate them. I have to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I gave this a 3 as is but made it again today with some additions/changes and give it a 5 now! I added 2 beaten eggs to the zucchini and onion mixture and held off using the salt until one side was browned. When I drained the zucchini and then added the sale as per directions I had a soupy mess. I also browned in extra virgin olive oil with a little butter and it intensified the flavor-great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I was sure that I am going to try these without any addition cause I thought thhese wouldn taste great. But unfortunately, these need to be sprinkled with some flour. Good taste though. I don't think I would make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I'm really glad I tried this recipe. Hubby and I loved them. Sonny, not so much. He got one that had quite a bit of oregano. The oregano flavor really comes out in this dish. We had this with the Cheesy French Toast (submitted by tassiedevil) Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
In response to the criticism that the "pancakes" do not hold together: the challenge is not with the recipe it's with expectations set up by the name pancakes. This is a recipe for a "latke", a yiddish word that is loosely translated as pancake. A latke is not a flour pancake, it is a vegetable pancake-like thing. Latkes don't hold together like a smooth pancake, even when made with potatoes - instead they have bits of vegetable that stick out, turn crispy, fall apart. So, you have to imagine you're living in Eastern Europe to enjoy this simple vegetable recipe or, if you really want a pancake, add flour and egg. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This recipe didn't work for me - it fell apart when I tried to flip it, even though it was cooked on that side. There was nothing holding it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
i haven't tried this recipe yet - i'm planning on it - but i've made something like it and i think it would help to add a beaten egg and a tablespoon or two of flour. also make sure to squeeze as much liquid out of the shredded veggies as possible before mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
the taste was good but it wouldn't stick together like a pancake! any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States