Zucchini and Feta Cheese Fritters (Kolokithokeftedes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Besides dessert, these were the highlight of my dinner last night. So many people asked for the recipe and commented on how delicious they were. Notes from other reviewers that I did: used bread crumbs instead of flour to form the patties, and baked instead of fried them. I doubled the recipe since I was having a lot of guests, and I would recommend not doubling the mint. I actually only added about 1 and 3/4 the mint and it was still a little overpowering (but still delicious). The mixture was also very wet, I had to add quite a bit of flour AND more breadcrumbs (hence why I am only giving this 4 stars). I didn't use the centre of the zucchini (mostly water and seeds) because I feared it would be too moist and it was still too wet. Probably should have squeezed out the excess moisture from the zucchini before mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made these with yellow summer squash, which I drained before using. The flavor was good. I'll use more mint if I make them again. But they were super wet. The was no way I could have made them into a patty and then dredge them in flour, even after I added as much bread crumbs as I was comfortable with without dulling down the flavor. I ended up dropping them by spoonfuls into the hot pan, and they were difficult to turn without destroying. They were very well received by the family, though, and tau with a yogurt mint sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I used bread crumbs rather than the flour.... Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Elise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Loved these! We left out the mint and added some garlic. Put the mixture in the fridge for about an hour to stiffen up a little then just dropped by spoonfuls into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I made these according to the original recipe and my family loved them. Simple ingredients that when combined are fabulous! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
These were way too watery. I made a big mess that wouldn't work. I had to add more breadcrumbs. Very frustrating at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Not sure what I did wrong with this recipe but the fritters did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
It won't let me write anything without putting in stars which stinks because I'm not comfortable rating this without making it the right way because I was missing ingredients. Seems like a good base recipe. Baked at 400 for 10 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Thanks for sharing, I was looking for recipies with mint and something different. I served to my Italian momn whom I take care of on Sundays. She said it was wonderful and in her 80 years of life it truely was something different. Iserved it with the Greek Meatballs, yum as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This recipe was an instant favorite at my house. Can't thank you enough for posting it - we have lots of zucchini in our farm share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States