Zucchini and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I grew up to love zucchini because of this "frittata" as we called it. It was everyday food for us, but only during summer when Grandma, and then Mom, grew zucchini in their garden. I feel for the submitter, because it's difficult to put this down in recipe form! It's never measured precisely, and the ingredients are never carved in stone. Add mushrooms, onions, and/or chopped tomato if you like, which is what I did today. I use fresh garlic, not garlic powder (grandmas didn't have garlic powder!) and not nearly as much Parmesan as the submitter directs - we use grated Parmesan at the table just like salt and pepper - just sprinkle it on to your liking. I didn't need a recipe for this, of course, but I wanted to let others who aren't familiar with this know that this is the real deal in Italian households - no plain ol' scrambled eggs for us! Times have changed since I was a young girl with so many fruits and vegetables now almost always available in our food markets. Now I can enjoy this profoundly nostalgic, simple plate of food all year round. (Best, I might add, with toasted, homemade Italian bread!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I grew up eating this as our garden was always abundant with zucchini and I still make it frequently. I start with sliced sweet onion (and a little chopped fresh garlic if you like it) . Saute onion in olive oil until softened; add the sliced zucchini and cook until tender. Add a little fresh chopped basil to the zucchini if you have some in your garden! Pour the eggs with Parmesan over the mixture and cook until set. Serve with a nice piece of crusty bread and a sliced tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Having some zucchini and wanting to use some up I'm glad I found this recipe! I did mince up a clove of garlic and used some of that instead of using the powder. This was great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
What a healthy and delicous breakfast! And I must admit a nice change from my usual yogurt. I used fresh garlic instead of powder and added some onions and tomatoes to get more veggies. This went great with multi-grain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by musicaldragon
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I made a couple changes, but I think it would have tasted great as is. I crushed a couple cloves of garlic into the hot olive oil and sauteed it for about a minute, then added the zucchini and some white mushrooms I needed to use up. Definitely a keeper :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This recipe is very similar to one that my mom always made for us in the summer time when zucchini was abundant. Her version doubles all of the amounts, add 1 cup of mozzarella cheese, line a pie pan with cresent rolls and brush with one tablespoon of mustard. Then add the zucchini mixture. Bake at 350 for 40mins OR until center is almost set. Allow it to rest for 10-15 mins then slice and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcayenne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Radnor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was delicious and super easy for breakfast. I followed the directions and the seasonings were just right for us. My nine year old and I loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is a good recipe but here's how to improve on it: saute 1/4 cup chopped white onion with the zucchini. The onion imparts a (just slightly) sweetness to the zucchini that keeps it from being bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My husband and I thought this was very good. I needed a quick lunch that used up some garden produce. The egg flavor complimented the zucchini nicely. This was quick, easy and tasty. I added onion to the saute. Good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barry
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
A better they expected recipie. I cut the zucchini in quarters, brown it on all sides then pour the eggs over it. I flip it out of the pan and put grated cheese on time. I wish I could up load a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States