Zucchini and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I made this tonight for dinner and it was very good. I used two zucchini, added 3 minced cloves of garlic, only two tomatoes, used 1/4 tsp. basil and 1/4 tsp. oregano for the Italian seasoning and also added about 1/2 tsp. salt. I mixed the seasonings in with all the vegetables, instead of just on top. I think it tasted better incorporating the seasoning throughout the dish. I also sprinkled a tad bit of Parmesan along with the mozzarella, and also used only about half the amount of cheese. 8 oz seemed a little much... maybe if you used a larger casserole dish you would use more cheese. Anyway, it was really a wonderful side dish and my sister, who has hated zucchini forever said it was actually very good and that she meant it. I think that says a lot! Everyone enjoyed this dish and it was a great combination of vegetables. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I made this as a side dish...wow! Was I surprised! I too used 2 zucchinis and half the tomtatoes. In addition, I "layered" the veggies, starting w/ the zucchini, then onions, green peppers, and tomatoes - sprinkling a little italian seasoning on each layer. I didn't think something so simple would turn out so good but we all enjoyed this and I'll be sure to make again when the garden is full of these goodies!! Thanks Juzella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
YUM! I loved this. Added a little summer squash and to me, it tasted a little like veggie pizza. It was so good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
These were great!! I did add 1/2 tsp onion salt to the zucchini mixture, and mixed in some fresh shredded parmesan cheese with the mozzarella. Will definitely make again!!! Thanks, Juzella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I wasn't sure if it was a typo or not, so I went ahead and sauteed the green pepper with the zucchini and onion. Now that I think about it, it would have probably been fine follow the directions. I'm still learning, so I tend to do whats comfortable. We really enjoyed this for dinner and the next day for lunch, but the casserole dish was a little wet in the bottom. Maybe I just had some real juicy tomatoes! (I only used 2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMALUVN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I'm vegetarian and this has become a favorite of mine, but my daughters, who are not vegetarian, also love it as a side-dish. (My zucchini-hating husband won't rry it, so he doesn't get a vote in rating it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This was a good sidedish but not anything real special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I made this for dinner tonight and I found that the tomatoes were really just far too wet, possibly because of the ones I used, and the green peppers didn't seem to get cooked enough. I think the next time I try this I'll only use the zucchini, onions, and cheese as well as putting some sliced mushrooms in with the zucchini and onion when it's in the skillit. MMMM now that sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I love all the ingredients in this dish and thought it would become one of my favorites. I was disappointed. The end result was rather wet, which I found unappetizing. Not sure if I did something wrong? I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Its a great way to eat your veggies. Like the others, I thought the dish was a little wet in the bottom. I used some parmesan cheese with the mozarella, cooked the peppers with the zucchini and tossed the seasoning with all the ingredients. I used two medium zucchini, one large tomato, and 1/3 of an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States