Zopf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Great recipe and a fantastic bread. My only comment - my stepmother is Swiss and she lets the bread rise for 30 mins before plaiting, and then lets it rise a further 30 mins after plaiting. This doesn't add anything to the taste but it makes it look prettier! I think it does help the texture; however - it's more open and softer. She has had difficulty in the UK and in NZ with finding correct flour (in Switzerland you can buy special zopf flour). She suggests using a strong white flour. One reviewer has suggested brushing with butter rather than the egg yolk and water mix. I personally wouldn't recommend this - the egg yolk mix gives a beautiful golden shine to the bread that is very attractive and butter doesn't have the same effect at all. It definitely DOES need salt, but not sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
A wonderful recipe for a great bread. This bread is great with butter and honey, or just jam, on relaxing Sunday mornings. Be sure to use *whole milk* (not skim milk) or you will get a bread that isn't as rich as it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Salt is very important; otherwise it will be too bland, as the previous reviewer said. I also use a 15% Spelt Flour / 85% All purpose flour mix; it makes the texture much closer to real Zopf bread; Just using All Purpose flour results in a bread that is too much like normal white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Texture: amazing- soft, toasts very well, dough easy to braid and work with. Taste: very very bland. This would be good to dip into flavored olive oil, or toast with honey or jam. But as a bread itself, the taste is lacking and flavorless. Process: I used my bread machine, putting in the milk, egg, & butter, followed by flour and yeast. I rose once in my machine. Then I took it out, braided it, and left it out for about 45 minutes (covered with a wet cloth) to rise (and it rose a lot, so I recommend a second rise). cooked about 20 minutes. Very light bread.- (If) Next-time alterations: add 3/4 teaspoon salt (a must), 1 tsp sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
great recipie, highly recommend. old world style texture and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I am so happy!! Ive been born and raised in Switzerland and moved to the USA after ive gotten married to my american husband. I am very happy here but i sure missed my Zopf. Now I am able to bake it for my American family... I've got even my father in law hooked with that bread... Thank you soooooooooooo much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunny
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Mine turned out perfectly, and looked beautiful. I would definitely brush over with butter, and not egg/water mixture though. Also, it needed a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Delicious! Be sure to use whole milk so it has its nice creamy taste! It's great with a soup, and its very addicting - disappears quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This bread would have been very good if it had salt in the ingredients. It cooked for only 16 minutes before turning brown and was not cooked all the way through. It did look good and had good texture but was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this today and it was absolutely fantastic. I was looking for a no salt bread for my father who is on a restricted diet. This is it! It was also fairly easy to make. It was the first loaf of bread i have made from sratch and it turned out perfect. We all loved it, you can tell it doesn't have salt, but if that's what you have to have, then this recipe is the bomb. It was delicious and soft and its something that anyone on a salt resticted diet can eat. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us Victoria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States