Ziti with Tomato-Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I loved the sauce. I add turkey sausage with casings removed, 1 jar of roasted red peppers, and some scoops of ricotta cheese. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Fantastic sauce idea! It's perfect when I don't feel like making a sauce from scratch. I add fresh, chopped portobello mushrooms to the sauce and let it simmer for a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
It never occured to me to add pesto sauce to plain old spaghetti sauce - the results are wonderful. Though you can't really taste the pesto, it really adds another layer flavor. I did change a few things. First, I browned and crumbled some sweet Italian sausage, then added some fresh mushrooms. Once that was all cooked, I add two cans of plain spaghetti sauce and almost a whole container of pesto. Once the pasta was cooked, I threw it all in a casserole, topped with cheese and baked for 20 minutes or so. My husband doesn't usually comment on pasta dishes - this one he did, repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This is a great quick low calorie pasta dish. I normally like to make my own sauce but an easy dinner is nice once in a while. Also I bought Victoria basil-tomato sauce and pesto sauce. And they were both very good. The pesto was perfect. It was not overwhelming but you could taste the flavor. I melted mozzarella on my husband's dinner and with mine, I rounded out the dinner with a nice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe is incredibly easy and healthy. I used Prego sauce and pesto with basil. Yum-o! All my kids (ages 17, 14, and 5) ate seconds. We served it with frozen cheesy garlic bread and had dinner on the table in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Deliciously perfect exactly how it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
So easy and tasty! Even my 1-year old devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Simple, easy, fast meal for a quick dinner. Nothing amazing, but good and basic. The pesto added a nice flavor, but wasn't overpowering. I used whole wheat penne in place of regular ziti (couldn't find whole wheat ziti) as well as a mushroom & pepper tomato sauce to add a few more nutrients. Adding sliced veggies to the sauce would also make this dish more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was ok. Not my favorite recipe from here, but also not the worst. I added meatballs and some sausage to the sauce to give it some protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States