Ziti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
This is great, but the second time I made it I made modifications: I sauteed the sausage along with the vegetables, and then just added the tomatoes and seasonings. I made extra sauce by using a 28 oz. can tomatoes (ran them through the food processor) and an extra 8 oz. tomato sauce, adding extra seasonings as well. I also used fresh mushrooms, and just sliced them and cooked them in the sauce. Instead of layering everything, I just mixed the cooked pasta together with the sauce and layered that with the cheese (using lots more cheese than called for). I ended up with two layers of sauce/cheese. I was looking for something very saucy and cheesy, and that was pretty much perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I used two 32 ounce jars of spaghetti sauce instead of making it and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
We use Boca Italian sausage for this and absolutely love it. I too use pre-made pasta sauce and I mix everything together rather than layering it-also I cover the casserole while cooking so it doesnt dry out-thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Hey! This was really good. Thanks for the great idea for italian sausage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This was one of the better recipes Ive tried from the pasta site. My picky kids loved it as did my husband. I used packaged Marinara sauce and added it to the sausage which made it even easier. It would be excellent to add spicey italian sausage but then im afraid it would be too hot for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
A delicious change from regular pasta and sauce. If you work during the week, this is an excellent dish to make ahead and re-warm. It's also a hit at pot-lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I was in a hurry so I used a jarred sauce. It was still YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was super easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I thought this was great - I read the other reviews and made some modifications: I used a whole cup each of chopped onion and celery, and I used a 28 oz. can of tomato sauce. I used fresh crushed garlic, fresh and dried basil, fennel seed, white pepper, and a pinch of hot pepper flakes. And less salt. I used part skim mozzarella to bring down the fat content and instead of canned mushrooms I used a pound of fresh, sliced mushrooms. The many layers shown here by keeping the mushrooms, sauce, and sausage mixture separate seemed too time consuming, so I mixed those together, and my layers were simply pasta, sauce, cheese, repeat. I also added some fresh chopped parsley to the top before baking it for 25 minutes. We really enjoyed it with a loaf of french bread, and it makes lots - I'm happy to have yummy leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I loved this myself so rated this 5 stars and hubby thought it was pretty good. I made more sauce and left out the mushrooms. I also added a little sugar for my husband but he still thought it was a little too "acidic" as he likes to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States