Ziti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
this was great.. i mixed the sauce and pasta together, then mixed in 1/2 cup ricotta and topped with mozzarella and parmesan. baked 35 mins covered with foil then 5 without to brown the cheese a little. excellent flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I give it 3 *** because I modified it so much. 1) Saute the onions, celery, and sausage together. I found the sausage had enough oil that adding olive oil wasn't really necessary. 2) Added fresh garlic to that mixture when it was done. 3) Skipped the sauce making part altogether and added two jars of Barilla Tomato Basil pasta sauce. 4) Simmered that while the ziti was cooking. 5) Used one bigger dish and one layer of noodles, sauce, then cheese. I happened to have some fresh basil so I sprinkled that on top of the whole thing. 6) Baked for only 30 minutes and that was plenty. It was great! A nice change from spaghetti or lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Awesome! I added whole fresh basil leaves in between the layers. I also used freshh baby bella mushrooms instead of canned mushrooms and used fresh garlic. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
A big hit when you're making for lots of people with different tastes! I used hot italian sausage, and even guests who prefer mild food (not me!) liked it that way. I also made a more sauce, as others had suggested. I wouldn't make it any other way, or I'd be afraid it would be bland and dry. Even still, if you prefer a bit more flavour, bring some hot sauce to the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Kid approved and they're hard to please! I added a little feta cheese with basil and omitted the mushrooms - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was a good change to how I traditionally make sausage. I was not crazy about it, but my family liked it. It felt that it was a little too dry and needed more seasoning. I think next time I will add Italian seasoning, more garlic, red and green peppers, more onion and more tomato sauce. I'll let you know how it goes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe. Thank you. I agree that it needed more sauce so I modified that. I also added fresh minced garlic to the onion and sausage. I had family in from out of town and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE1124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I was really excited to try this dish after reading all the rave reviews. So I made it and only changed a few things. I didnt use celery as this just doesnt sound good with a heavy pasta dish. I also used italian baking sauce instead of tomato sauce. Thats it. Everything else was as the receipe states. It was good, but nothing to write home about. I don't think I would make it again, although it wasn't bad, it wasn't spectacular for the longer than I'd like prep time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Can Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I call this poizza pasta to get the kids to eat it. They love it and ask me for it all of the time. I ahve made several variations of this recipe and have found that the favorite is to omit the celery and mushrooms (we just don't like mushrooms), add sliced pepperoni and a little extra sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Very dry, nothing outstanding. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States