Ziti and Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Fantastic recipe - one of the best vegetarian pastas I have had. I did add some onion, garlic, and oregano in the beginning, and a little bit of shredded mozarella towards the end. Also I mixed the sauce and pasta together for a few minutes so that there was no way for my 2 year old to avoid the veggies - turned out he loved the sauce and was picking out the eggplant pieces to eat them directly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great recipe. Even my little brother liked it and he's pretty hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Excellent! Subbed coconut oil, used jarred sauce, used dried red peppers. This was just great and I will make this many more times. Thanks for giving me the idea of putting eggplant with mac and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
My favorite (obviously). Please try it, and tell me what you think. The cheese bread can obviously be made seperately -- it's delicious even alone. Somehow allrecipes messed up the pita bread recipe. Here is a corrected version. Open the pitas, put a light and even spread of butter on the insides. Sprinkle lots of parmesan cheese and then put on some SWEET PEPRIKA -- i like to make a light sprinkling across each piece. If you want, you can saute some garlic and onions before you throw in the egglant chunks. The cubes of egglant should be about 1/2 x 1/2". The sauce is even better when you weave in some mozzarella cheese at the end when you're mixing the pasta and the sauce together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
The only change I made to this recipe (having made it a couple of times) is to reduce the amount of roasted red peppers. Other than that, the sauce is sublime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very Good!! I made this without the cheesy pitas, I just substituted garlic bread and it was excellent! The only thing, I had to use a nonstick pan when I sauted the eggplant...started out in a regular and it was sticking since there is not alot of olive oil, and I also halved the red pepper as was suggested. Will definately make this again! I cooked for 4 adults and there was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I used whole wheat pasta instead of ziti. This is SO tasty! The eggplant absorbed all of the flavors and I couldn't even tell I was eating eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe. It takes a while to cook, but my fiance (who doesn't eat eggplant) even enjoyed it. We did add chunks of chicken the recipe which made it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe was so simple! I've never even dared cook eggplant before, and the dish just turned out so delicious. I made it with the crushed tomatoes that come with the Italian herbs, and put some slices of provolone on top of the sauce to melt right before I served it over whole wheat pasta. The roasted red peppers put the flavor right over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was good. I'm giving it four stars because as written I can see where others would find it bland. I sauteed a cup of chopped onion along with the eggplant until lightly browned. Added a heaping tablespoon of chopped garlic, two cans of stewed tomatoes and half a cup of homemade roasted red peppers in garlic and balsamic vinegar. I also added a good splash of red wine, half a dozen chopped fresh basil leaves, and a heaping spoonful of pesto and topped with parmesan. The recipe as written is a great start, each cook just needs to adjust according to their own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States