Zippy Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
It's a hit! Even my preschooler loved it. Instead of baking mix, I used pancake mix to give a hint of sweetness. Garlic salt instead of salt, omitted the onions, added 1 Tbs hot sauce. I baked it for 45 minutes to get it all the way set up inside and a little brown on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peru, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Came out really good. Was scared about the consistency and zucchini to bisquick ratio, but it came out great. Like other reviewers, we let it bake for 40 minutes, so the middle wasn't too mushy. We used the heart-healthy bisquick and didn't use salt (although, I was missing some salt at the end). All and all, came out great, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieSean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I agree with all the prior reviews of it being slightly bland. Great recipe to start from though, has some great elements that make it a little different. I also accidentally made it with corn bread mix instead of buttermilk, but it turned out pretty good. So, I will surely try it again but will be more creative :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was just o.k.. It definately needs some seasoning, very bland. I would recommend adding something to this for seasoning. I gave it 3 stars because my gf seems to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
since my husband has to watch his cholesterol, I only put 2 whole eggs in,and just the whites of the other two. I also added about half a cup of grated, colby/jack cheese We thought it was delicious. I will make it again, since he is growing zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Good basic recipe....missing something for me - don't know what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Boy! did my husband like this one. I used Bisquick and also sauteed the onion first (we like it well cooked) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandybird
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
What a nice picture, if I do say so myself. (yeah, gratuitous pat on my back for a good food picture) I liked this recipe quite a lot though I think I will continue to try and refine it. I topped it with sliced roasted red peppers and that added a nice taste. Next time I'll dice them and mix them in. I also added a half teaspoon of cayenne. My food processor was very helpful to make this. I used the slicer blade for the zucchini and the shredder side of the blade for the onion. I baked it longer than recommended and it still didn't seem 'set' in the center. I've since tried making it in a muffin pan thinking that would alleviate the mushiness but it didn't. Next time I'm spreading the stuff into a cookie sheet and baking it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I followed the directions exactly and when mixing everything up I had my reservations. As others said it needed some kick, I added fresh garlic to the cooking process as well as crushed black pepper. It did need 10 more minutes in the oven. It did get nice and brown. Upon tasting it, it still needed something more, too bland. Added some Red Hot and that helped. I am hoping it tastes better the second day as there are plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was very easy and I loved that the fresh zucchini taste wasn't overpowered by the other ingredients. It was a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMES_MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States