Zippy Summer Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was tasty, I used less lemon then called for and used butter in the place of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Luthman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
UPDATE: MADE THIS AGAIN PAIRED WITH SOWMYA'S CARROT RICE! DELISH!!! THE SUBTLE SWEETNESS OF THE RICE COMPLEMENTED MY SHRIMP NICELY! I ALSO ADDED A TOUCH MORE LEMON JUICE THIS TIME (PERFECT!). SUPERB (which is a great feat considering that every time I cook shrimp, I end up with nothing short of a bland outcome)!!! Having said this, I did feel that the flavors were somewhat unbalanced. My shrimp were super spicy with very little "zip." They were also unbelievably messy to eat! As Rebecca suggested (see her review), I left my shrimp partially peeled. Yes, this helped to lock in a LOT of flavor, but they were a real pain to shell after they were coated in sauce. On the contrary, my hubs thought peeling tableside was a non issue (I guess I'm a whimp lol!). Now, about the missing oomph.... The lemon juice definitely adds a bit of tang. This recipe wouldn't be the same without it, so don't leave it out! NOTE: Keep in mind that Spanish paprika is smoky, whereas the more common Hungarian variety is sweet. There are many types, all with differing heat intensities - so chose wisely! :) A seasoned summer veggie blend, garlic herb rice and French bread (for mopping up the extra sauce!) rounded out our fuss-free meal. This will be a perfect to turn to when I'm in need of an easy and quick weeknight meal. That alone elevates this to star quality, IMHO. Thanks for sharing your recipe, REBECCADK! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Wonderful! I had a few shrimp I had thawed out and decided not to cook the same day, so had to cook soon after and found this recipe. Reduced it to the portion size I needed and it was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly but did use raw shrimp, we live in La., so fresh shrimp is a must! Thanks for a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was awesome; I used frozen shrimp with just the tails attached; then defrosted the shrimp removed the tails before throwing in the pan. The lemon flavor was so good; with the 'zippy' flavor of the red pepper. Quick and easy too. Served with Brown Rice and veggie. Will definitely make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
yum!! Will make this again--would go great over pasta, with rice, or on a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Yum yum yum! I used another reviewer's advice and added white wine to the sauce and served with pasta. Holy cow! I had a hard time trying to stop eating this...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good. I too used frozen cooked shrimp. Fast, easy and a hit with my husband. This will be a frequently used recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyinpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
The spices far overwhelmed the delicate flavor of the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
very good flavor! did mine in a skillet due to bad weather but they were still awesome! the fresh basil is a must in my opinion. we didn't have a shrimp left! thanks rebeccadk for the recipe! i will be grilling these when the weather gets better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Really good...only change I made was to add a bit of extra red pepper since we like our food pretty spicy. Recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States