Zippy Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
YUM! This is the best tasting rice I've had in a LONG while. It has just the right amount of zip and complements spicy Mexican foods nicely (or anything else for that matter). I do suggest that you lightly toast your rice first tho.... It helps prevent the grains from sticking together. Other than adding a hefty squeeze of lime, I have no suggestions for improving upon this fantastic recipe. I'll be adding this to my "keeper" file for sure. Thanks for sharing, Elizabeth! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This rice dish is very quick and easy to do and really a crowd pleaser. I tripled the recipe for a party of 15 and not a grain was left over. For 3 cups of rice, I used two 14-ounce cans of chicken broth and it was the perfect amount for fluffy pilaf. I think the amount of cumin is perfect ...not overpowering as mentioned in another review. Without the cilantro, it goes very well with Middle-Eastern type food. We devoured the rice as a side dish to Kefta kebabs and Geeek souvlaki. Everyone loved and asked for the recipe. I also made this once before with cilantro as written and it went specially great with Mexican dishes. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe then as well. This recipe is now officially going into my recipe box! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This rice was so good! The onion, cilantro, and cumin gave this rice a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Loved it! We're a little wimpy on heat so I didn't use Jalepeno but it was great regardless. Also my Cilantro plant has gone to seed so I used fresh Parsley instead. This recipe is rather flexible, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Great dish, and so easy. Quickly becoming a staple in my house. Thank you for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband and I really liked this! Didn't have any Jalapeños on hand, but used green peppers instead. Didn't have as much zip, but was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funnygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is a great way to use up leftover rice. We use already cooked rice and then follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Tasty and added a little extra "zip" to ordinary plain rice. I did wash the rice a few times prior to cooking but otherwise I made exactly as is. Served with Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Pretty good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
We use this all the time for a side dish to many meals, fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States