Zippy Praline Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Unbelievable, easy, and finally something different for the brunch table!!! But a note of caution!!!!!!!!! DO NOT DRAIN ON PAPER TOWELS. THE SUGAR FROM THE BACON STICKS. We lost 1/2 lb the first time I made it. Just let it cool on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
WOW!!! Just made these...read the reviews first so i microwaved my bacon 5 slices at a time for 1 min 30 seconds...greatly reduced the grease amount in the oven! Then I placed them on the foil lined cookie sheet that I sprayed with Pam and cooked for about 7-8 minutess. Also read the reviews about cooling on the pan vs. draining on a paper towel, so I improvised and took them immediately off the pan and onto my cookie cooling rackthe I placed on old newspaper to catch any greaswe. But there was very little dripping due to microwaving. Clean up was a snap! Thanks for a great recipe...for sure a keeper : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Decided to make this and bring to a New Year's Eve party; everyone LOVED it! Made a couple of minor changes to the recipe. I used thick sliced bacon and used Chipotle Chili Powder in place of regular chili powder. Because the Chipotle powder has more heat I reduced the amount to 1 teaspoon. Because the bacon was thicker, I cooked the bacon 15-20 minutes in the first step. then I sprinkled on the sugar chili mixture and the pecans before baking another 7 minutes. The bacon was sweet with a nice "kick" to it. Got lots of compliments recipe requests from people at the party. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Everytime I make this for parties it dissapears within 10 minutes from the buffet table because its so popular. I normally make several pounds at a time. The issues I have with the recipe is the smell of bacon which I dislike and pulling the pans from the oven. Be careful that bacon grease can go everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watergardengoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
OMGoodness! This was the BEST BACON EVER! I used thick cut bacon and CHIPOTLE Chili powder!! It is a bit spicier than regular chili powder and the spiciness of the chili powder with the sweet brown sugar was AWESOME!! I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars!!! YUMMMMMMMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe is fantastic, but instead of using it as a breakfast treat, try it as an appetizer. Wrap the bacon around bread sticks, then roll them in the rest of the mixture and bake them. Really delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made this for a brunch and everyone loved it. I followed recipe just as directed and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this a couple of times and it always a huge hit. I do not modify the recipe at all. I add this to my caesar salad as bacon bits and always get great reviews. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
DELICIOUS. I got this recipe from a friend before and it is awesome. The combination of the sugar and chili powder is awesome. Beware taking the bacon out of the oven - lots of grease to drip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Like dog treats for humans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States