Zippy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Made as directed on the 1st day it will be very bland ... ... But the 2nd+ days it's great!!! So make it a day ahead if you'll be serving it at a dinner party/for guests. Do use veggie or chicken broth instead of plain water. & go ahead & double the spice rations for this recipe, it's even better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Add 1 tsp brown or spicy mustard at the end. Cream half of the potatoes after boiling. Top with cheddar cheese. May need to add extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this last weekend out of the Taste of Home cookbook that this recipe came from. I'm sorry to have to say it failed. Nobody would touch it, not even after I tried adding cheese, and I ended up throwing out most of the whole, big pot. Now, to be fair I must admit to using turkey bacon, and half fat free and half regular evaporated milk. This is what's on hand due to dietary issues. While I have no doubt this affected the flavor some, I can't believe that's all that contributed as we are used to these things. However, considering how bad it tasted I would still recommend to anyone considering making it, NOT to substitute with these ingredients. I'm afraid this will not be on the list to try again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Delish and so easy, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My husband and I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was literally the worst potato soup I have ever made. No flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Was very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I found this soup to be a little bland. It was a good base recipe, but I think it needs a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Wow.. great recipe. You will need to play around with the amount of seasoning though, depending upon how much of a traditional potato soup you want. Only thing I did different was omit the carrots, use 1 tsp of dijon mustard instead of the powdered mustard and a dash of celery salt. I also used just a dash of nutmeg and cayenne. I also subsituted heavy whipping cream in place of condensed milk and added a cube of chicken boullioun to the water when boiling the potatos. You may want to drain off the excess water, as you want your potatoes just covered with the water. (You can add it back later if its too thick) Then add all the other ingredients. You definately will need more salt and pepper. Top with Grated Cheese! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
not my favorite ,at all!! seemed to be missing something. maybe instead of the evaporated milk, try half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States