Zippy Ground Beef Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. It is always an easy and tasty meal to make when I haven't been to the grocery store in a while. I have made a couple of minor changes, mainly to make it even easier. I omit the green pepper (don't care for them), and the jalapeno pepper. I substitute two 10 oz cans of RoTel Diced Tomatoes & Green Chilies, which lends plenty of heat without the bother of cutting up jalapeno peppers. In total I use three cans of tomatoes, the two RoTel cans and one can of regular diced tomatoes. We love the combo of the heat with the honey. I think this tastes even better then second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very Good!!!I added a few different seasonings like cumin and garlic powder and i added 3 haberao peppers it was very tasty thank u for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSMOM23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This dish has a really nice flavor. Mine turned out a bit juicy, so I think next time I would drain some of the juice from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was good and easy to make. Ingredient/amt changes: spinach & wheat pasta, 1 onion, 1 orange pepper, 2 Tb honey, 2 Spiracha Hot Chili Sauce, 4 Tb sliced jalapenos, 2 Tb hot chili powder and WOW did that zip up the flavor. For those that do not like it hot the original recipe was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I am giving this recipe a 4 because I liked it ALOT and everyone else rated it a 2. You need to add the jalapeno peppers- don't leave them out. I didn't cook mine with the peppers (my little guys do not like) and it was not very good. I added pickled jalapenos to my portion and it was very good. Served with tortilla chips. ADD THE PEPPERS! UPDATE: I have modified this into a dish that my guys LOVE. Couple of minor tweaks and HOLY COW..yum yum good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was very, very good. I'm always looking for easy meals to make on work nights, so I was really glad to find this one. I made it using whole wheat pasta and I also added about a teaspoon of garlic powder. After reading that other reviewers found it a bit runny, I drained some of the juice off the tomatos (probably less than half) before adding them and I found the consistency perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Very good! I used more green pepper & onion than called for & added garlic. Next time I would eliminate the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulandPam Folbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty. I put in cabbage, just for something extra and it turned out awesome. It gave the dish some extra texture that it really needed. I also added garlic powder, salt and pepper. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was just OK for me., although my husband really liked it. I think next time I will add more seasonings and perhaps use a can of Mexican flavoured tomatoes. I used chilli oil to saute the meat and I think that helps give it a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was decent. I wish I could give it a 3 1/2. Only thing I did different was use a can of tomatoes w/ chilie peppers and drained it. I really liked the amount of spice to it but felt it was lacking on the seasoning. Maybe some taco seasoning would do the trick?.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States