Zippy Ground Beef Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Tried this recipe tonight. My husband loved it. I think it lack something else. I changed it a little by using 1-14.5 can of tomatos (sweet onion flavor) and 1-14.5 can of petite dice tomatos. I added a dask of season all, cumin, peeper and salt. I only used 8 oz of regular sour cream. Overall it was a good quick recipe to make after a long days work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
The second time I made this, I modified a few things and it was more flavorful. I used Ro-tel tomatoes of different varieties and used 1/2 tsp chili powder & 1/2 tsp red pepper. I also added 1 can of condensed cheddar cheese soup. This time around it is super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Great recipe...only thing I added to kick it up was hot sauce (to your taste), as well as some chipolte sauce. For those that are throwing out the excess liquid, don't...just simmer it to reduce the liquid. You'll be glad you did because the flavor becomes enhanced. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Sorry but I made it as told and it was blan. I added several things to give it flavor but it was a lost cause... I consider myself an experienced cook and I couldn't fix this... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
AMAZING. I just looked up "ground beef" and luckily stumbled upon this recipe. I will be making this over and over and over again. I didn't have any tube pasta, so I used whole wheat linguine that I chopped up after I cooked it. I think it will taste better with the tubes, but it was delish even with the improvisations! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have made this twice. YUMMY. The first time as written and the second time I substituted the canned diced tomatoes with 2 large fresh chopped tomatoes and about 1/4 cup water. I think I like it better with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Average
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I did this somewhat differently because I live in Japan and I don't have easy access to all of these things, but... this was awesome! It's like Hamburger Helper made from scratch. Mm! I used only about 3/4 pound ground beef; used a red bell pepper instead of green; used two fresh tomatoes; used 1-2 tsp Tabasco jalapeno sauce in lieu of actual peppers (because those are impossible to find in my town); used maple syrup in lieu of honey (too expensive here); used only a half cup of sour cream. I have every confidence this recipe is awesome just as it is written though. I just did what I have to do! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Hornsby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Very tasty meal. It was a little watery so I added some flour and Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
What an easy and very tasty meal. One of my favorites. Haven't changed a thing. Just be sure to add the salt to this recipe. I tried to leave it out once....not a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States