Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe was excellent! Perfect for Christmas morning. We just made one change. We browned some hashbrowns in butter with garlic and onion powder and lined the bottom of the dish with them instead of croutons. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This has become my got to recipe for overnight guests. It is easy and everyone loves it. I have used both bacon and sausage and love them both. I really like to us the hot sausage for a real kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Served this the first time on Christmas morning and the whole family loved it. Everyone wanted the recipe and now whenever we have a family sleepover we have this for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a big hit with my family for Easter brunch, and on many occasions since! Using the croutons as a base layer is brilliant. The last couple times I've made this recipe I've modified it by adding some cubed cream cheese into the cheese layer, which makes it extra creamy and is a nice balance to the sharpness of the other cheese. I also kick it up with some cayenne pepper and fresh ground black pepper. These modifications easily take this up to a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was great! Next time, I'll add a can of green chile peppers to the top, stronger cheeses and ceasar croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Just served this casserole for brunch this morning and what a hit! It was devoured in no time flat and everyone wanted the recipe. I was skeptical about making it (croutons?) but they made an amazing base for the casserole. I added some Canadian bacon along with the sausage, and like a previous reviewer, let the casserole sit out for about 20 minutes while the oven was preheating--60 minutes bake time and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I've made this several times now for various gatherings and it is always a hit. I use diced ham and green peppers in place of the sausage. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I thought the crouton flavor was too strong and the dish wasn't spicy at all. I prefer breakfast casseroles with a hash brown or crescent roll base, rather than croutons. It wasn't horrible, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Love it! Love it! Love it! I've made this many times. Has become a family favorite for Christmas morning. I also made it for a 4th grade "breakfast feast" The kids loved it- good thing I made two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Good wasn't just the best ever though. You will be surprised that you cannot taste the croutons like you would think. I had it once and froze the rest.....it didn't taste as good after frozen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States