Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was a fabulous casserole. My roommate hates new things and is a very picky breakfast person...SHE LOVED IT!! I used a few healthy alternatives: I used 2c. red-fat swiss and 2c. red-fat cheddar in place of the cheeses listed, I used Fat-Free half/half, 2% milk and I also used red-fat pork sausage and 2c. of Southwestern Egg Beaters instead of the 8 eggs. I layered it all the same and left in fridge from 2pm-7am the next day and it was GREAT!!! Best breakfast casserole I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BFit4You

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I made this casserole for a brunch tailgate, and it was a huge hit! We had to travel about an hour to the game, and it was was just as appetizing-looking then as when I had taken it out of the oven. Followed the recipe exactly - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Baked this for my son's class breakfast. It was mostly eaten by the adults and everyone said they liked it and wanted the recipe. I did not like it. To me it seems there were just too many flavors going on at one time. The strong flavor of the croutons, strong cheeses and meat was too much for me. If I make it again I will omit the swiss cheese and opt for fresh veggies browned in butter in lieu of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
MMM MMM MMM!!!! I made this for Mother's Day and it was a HUGE hit. Everyone loved it & went back for seconds. My mom even asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I made this recipe for Mothers Day and my wife enjoyed it very much. It was easy to halve. I used Hot sausage to spice it up a little more. Next time, I will try using broccoli instead of sausage to make a vegetarian variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I scaled this to 4 servings and by mistake put about three times as much croutones as the recipe called for. (It should have been 1/3 of a 5.5 oz packet)I put 6oz of my own home made, whole grain croutones sprayed with olive oil, sprinkled with mixed herbs and spices (Mrs. Dash)and baked in the oven. They tend to be a bit heavier than a white bread but it really soaked up the egg/milk/cream mixture overnight and it turned out really grrrreat! I used chorizo chopped finely and fried with a bit more onion than called for plus green peppers and I added a pinch of paprika,cumin and oregano. Gave it tex mex flavour which goes down well in our house. Next time I will try it italian style, but it´s great on a Sunday morning to just make juice and coffee and everything else is done, because my misteken way cuts out the need to put more bread on the table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Since we don't eat red meat at our house, I used ground turkey sausage instead of the pork sausage. I took it to a church breakfast buffet and there were no leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I made this for a work function. Everyone loved it so much that I had to make copies of the recipe!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is a SURE thing folks! Preparing it the night before made it even more convenient and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
If you wanted, you could top with salsa, sour cream, and even green onions and green olives. It would lend itself to that as well. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States