Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I took this to a potluck brunch and everyone loved it. The spicyness made it a little different than the average breakfast casserole. Thanks for the great recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I tried this recipe because the dish is prepared the day before and baked the next morning. I did not have pepperjack cheese, so just increased the amount of other cheeses (wasn't worried about the amount of "zip"). Everyone really liked the dish - it was a big hit and quickly eaten - a lot of requests for the recipe. I gave it only 4 stars because there's a definite problem with the bake time and/or oven temp. After the time indicated, it was still raw in the center. As it continued to bake, it got a little too brown/crusty along the edges. When I make this again, I'll experiment and try it at 325 for a longer time OR maybe take it out of the fridge for 30 minutes before baking. Someone who requested the recipe from me made it and had the same problem. ****UPDATE**** Made this again, but took it out of the fridge and let it sit for 30 minutes before putting it in a 350 oven. Baked for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Used a little more bread crumbs and it also needed to look a little more longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was good, but not great...it still needed some spice, some 'pizazz'. I'm giving it 4 stars for being so easy to prepare and the potential for being great! I used HOT sausage as was recommended by other reviewers. I even used seasoned croutons, and salsa cheese. Maybe I'll add some mushrooms and peppers next time. I will make this again, but add a few more spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 in family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Delicious! I made three casseroles for a family brunch and this was everyone's favorite. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Excellent...Took this casserole to a brunch and received many compliments. People who don't care for baked eggs even liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as the recipe. It turned out wonderful! I cooked it the entire 60 minutes. Everyone loved it. I will be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
wonderful! the whole family loved it and I am making it again within only a few days at their request! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this without any changes to the recipe for Christmas morning and it was a success. I doubled the recipe though, but I still used one pan. It all fit (barely) into my 9X13 pan, although it was up to the VERY top. When baking, it puffed up nicely and cooked beautifully. One note, when that full, the grease from the cheese bubbles up and will spill over into over--I would recommend putting a cookie sheet underneath if it is doubled and in one pan. I also found that it reheats nicely--we are enjoying the leftovers again today! And for those leary of the croutons--don't be! You can't even tell they are there after baking. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I thought this was OK. My fiance loved it. If I were to make again, I would add some hot sauce to the egg mixture and use a hot sausage. I was expecting it to taste "zippier", but it was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States