Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is over the top yummy. The only thing that I do that is not in the recipe is take the casserole out of the refrigerator at least 30 minutes before bakign to get it more to room temperature. Doing that eliminates the potential of any runniness that others complained about. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoshowcase
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was very easy and had great results. I used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and added an extra layer of cheese on top before baking. In my haste I accidentally grabbed the Heavy Whipping cream instead of half and half which I suppose only made it that much better. It was AMAZING! Delicious and everyone went for seconds until it was all gone. I say 2 thumbs up and will make this again. I will probably use croissants instead of the croutons as it will make the dish "plumper" and absorb better and maybe cut the milk in half to firm it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is a great base recipe. I like bacon instead of the texture of sausage. Also, I add fresh torn baby spinach, fresh sauteed mushrooms, and saute the onions for a healthier twist. We love it and I made it for my family and they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great recipe! Usually make this for Thanksgiving and Christmas breakfast beacuse it can be made the night before and popped in the oven that morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I despise the traditional breakfast casseroles where there is soggy icky bread on the bottom. This has croutons as the foundation which cook up perfectly! This is my alltime favorite breakfast casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is my favorite dish for breakfast potlucks at work. Everyone loves it and it is very easy to make. Always turns out beautiful. Probably too high in calories to have too often, but a great "special" dish to make for company, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My little sister demands I make this for Christmas breakfast every year. I also add some sauteed fresh mushrooms. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
By mistake this last time I didn't get uncooked pork sausage but had on hand pre-cooked sausage links. Instead of another trip to the store I chopped them up and added them the night before, they cooked while baking in the morning. Fantastic solution - takes the messy step out. Will do this in the future. The entire family loves this dish and it's always the 1st eggbake gone at a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Great Recipe! No soggy bread taste. I prefer it with Jimmy Dean hot sausage. ***I no longer try making other egg casseroles. This is the best one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
We love this casserole for brunch! It has become a huge hit with my family. I have used regular sausage one time and then turkey sausage the next time. Either option is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States