Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Very good and has a wonderful "zip" to it! I served it for a holiday brunch and it was quickly gobbled up! I used real onion instead of minced and I added some mushrooms - very easy to personalize the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Let me tell you, I am not a cook. Never have been and never will be. Simplicity is key, and this recipe fell right into that category. I knew what all of the ingredients were and had no preblems putting this recipe together. I served the egg bake for my mother and father in law for a Christmas Eve brunch. Everyone had seconds and I was not teased for any kitchen mishaps (a miracle). The recipe was wonderful, and the few leftovers tasted great re-heated! Of course I didn't change the recipe at all, but I wouldn't recommend any substitutions because the Zippy Egg Caserole was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Excellent and easy. I used ham instead of sausage. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This is one of the best breakfast casseroles I've ever had! I always omit the swiss cheese and use extra cheddar in place of it. I also like to add a little more onion and some chopped green pepper. I've tried it with spicy sausage and that's great, but with the spicy cheese it might be a little too much for some people. Regular sausage is nice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Wow, I am surprised and disappointed! I amde this recipe as directed, except saved some of the cheese for the top of the casserole. After an hour of cooking and then standing, it still seemed milky. Finally, it did firm up enough to serve, but even then, I thought it was just ok. I guess maybe I was expecting to much for all the rave reviews. I used turkey sausage and you couldn't even tell due to the spicy-ness of the jack cheese, (which pleased my Italian husband & father-in-law), but overall, I have had much better breakfast casseroles. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
WOW! This is one of the best breakfast casserole's that we've found! We added a 1/2 cup of onions and green pepper and 1/4 cup green onion. To the egg mixture we added 1 teaspoon of onion powder, garlic powder, and Emeril's essence. We also used bacon instead of sausage. You can add whatever veggies and spices that you prefer for this casserole. It tastes like a big fluffy omelet with alot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Loved it! Made it the night before Thanksgiving and baked it the next morning -- it was easy! Have made several variations of this one, using white bread, this one is far better tasting! The croutons (I used a ranch flavor) made SUCH a difference. This one will be our every Thanksgiving Morning tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Definate keeper! Didn't change a thing and it was GONE! I'm one of those "nothing too spicy, please" (heck, I think room temperature ketchup is hot!)...but the pepperjack cheese added just a zing..not a even flicker of heat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Excellent. Was a big hit at a wedding gift opening. Would not change a thing! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is great!! I actually dont like to cook but I have made this five times in the last month. My family loves it and when I take it somewhere everyone wants the recipe. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States