Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Excellent and easy. I used ham instead of sausage. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This is one of the best breakfast casseroles I've ever had! I always omit the swiss cheese and use extra cheddar in place of it. I also like to add a little more onion and some chopped green pepper. I've tried it with spicy sausage and that's great, but with the spicy cheese it might be a little too much for some people. Regular sausage is nice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Wow, I am surprised and disappointed! I amde this recipe as directed, except saved some of the cheese for the top of the casserole. After an hour of cooking and then standing, it still seemed milky. Finally, it did firm up enough to serve, but even then, I thought it was just ok. I guess maybe I was expecting to much for all the rave reviews. I used turkey sausage and you couldn't even tell due to the spicy-ness of the jack cheese, (which pleased my Italian husband & father-in-law), but overall, I have had much better breakfast casseroles. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
WOW! This is one of the best breakfast casserole's that we've found! We added a 1/2 cup of onions and green pepper and 1/4 cup green onion. To the egg mixture we added 1 teaspoon of onion powder, garlic powder, and Emeril's essence. We also used bacon instead of sausage. You can add whatever veggies and spices that you prefer for this casserole. It tastes like a big fluffy omelet with alot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Loved it! Made it the night before Thanksgiving and baked it the next morning -- it was easy! Have made several variations of this one, using white bread, this one is far better tasting! The croutons (I used a ranch flavor) made SUCH a difference. This one will be our every Thanksgiving Morning tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Definate keeper! Didn't change a thing and it was GONE! I'm one of those "nothing too spicy, please" (heck, I think room temperature ketchup is hot!)...but the pepperjack cheese added just a zing..not a even flicker of heat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Excellent. Was a big hit at a wedding gift opening. Would not change a thing! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is great!! I actually dont like to cook but I have made this five times in the last month. My family loves it and when I take it somewhere everyone wants the recipe. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I had made this before (and rated it 5 stars). I just recently wanted to make this casserole for a baby shower, but I now live outside the U.S. and am unable to get croutons, pepper jack, swiss or cheddar cheese OR half and half. But, I want to let you all know how flexible this recipe is!! I made my own croutons (using a recipe also from this site), all whole milk, chorizo instead of sausage (for that kick), and American cheese and a hard cheese similar to Swiss (those are all I could get here...). Anyway, it still turned out great! Next time, I'd use a bit less milk, but otherwise, I was pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Outstanding brunch recipe. Every member of my family loved it and wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States