Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Made this recipe for Easter brunch and it was truly divine. I was thrilled with it! A few substitutions - I used mushroom, bacon and onion instead of the sausage (personal preference). I had made a larger recipe, and I had difficulty telling if I had it right or not, so ended up adding more eggs/half-half/milk mixture. It also was unclear whether to cover during baking or not, so I did, but removed it after 30 minutes. Because I had a lot in the oven, this took me almost 90 minutes to cook, probably could have done it within 80 minutes, but it was hard to tell when it was done. But it was so tasty -- I'll make it again and again. The flavor's great, even the next day. Got lots of praise for this one! Thanks Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This didn't really turn out for me. The texture was a little strange. I think the croutons I used were fairly large and it seemed like eating soggy bread. The flavor was okay- maybe I needed to cook it longer???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was an office HIT! I made this vegitarian style (substititing the sausage for zucchini and broccoli) It was great. I did have to bake it longer than 60 minutes, but it could be since I used the veggies. I will definitely make again! And try with the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
THIS WAS DELICIOUS! I CUT IT IN HALF FOR ME AND MY HUSBAND, BUT IT LOOKED A LITTLE RUNNY SO I ADDED ONE MORE EGG AND A LITTLE EXTRA CHEESE (WE BOTH LOVE CHEESE) AND SOME ONION AND GREEN PEPPER. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was great! Easy to make and wonderful flavor. I made it with ham, green peppers and alittle garlic salt in the eggs. Served with hashbrowns to add variety. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I found this recipe while looking for a quick and easy egg casserole to make for my hubby's birthday breakfast. I wanted to be able to enjoy a yummy breakfast without having to be a slave in the kitchen. It was awesome. I can't believe how simple it was and the best part was being able to assemble it the night before. What a time saver. I did a half sausage and half ham. What a great dish. Delicious! It's definitely a 5 star recipe and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe is zippy all right!!! It has a very zippy taste and it is zippy to make. I did however add chopped onion and bell pepper to really add to the taste. Made it for a large baby shower and it was a huge success. It is very flexible; you can easily double and triple it. Throw out all of your old Eggs Brunch recipes...this one beats them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I have made this a few times for the firehall boys and it has been a great success. I did substitute hot italian sausage for the pork sausage, and added some diced onion and diced red, yellow and green peppers to the sausage layer. Served it up with some salsa and they loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Very good! I eliminated the croutons and added my favorite veggie, zucchini, along with some green pepper. I didn't have any dry mustard so I used a tad of regular mustard (a trick my mom taught me a long time ago) Instead of layering, I mixed everything together and threw it in the pan. So my dish was more like "Zippy Baked Omelette." Pepper jack cheese is a great addition to this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This recipe made my new year's morning. Being the morning after new year's eve I wanted something extremely easy to cook & I had a crowd of about 20 people to feed. I did all the prep work the day before & just threw the cassaroles in the oven in the morning. I did mix of the flavors (ham & broccoli, veggie...) & chaged up the cheese in some of the cassaroles. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States