Zippy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
We love this recipe. I goofed and used ground black pepper by mistake but, that's quite alright with us. The recipe with the nuts was extra thick and chunky and preferably the way I like them. From start to finish, we totally enjoyed the recipe very much. The batter was nice and thick and stood up very well. I am so impressed with this cookie recipe, that I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent.. the only chocolate chip cookie I make... always a hit. I find putting the batter in the fridge until it's firm makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I love these cookies! I like my food to be hot so I added extra white pepper and added some pepper flakes. They didn't turn out as hot has I wanted them to but I will continue to exspirement until I get it hot like I like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
yum! The white pepper makes them great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Not my favorite. I found that they were pretty flat and the edges cooked while the middle was still raw-ish. When they cooled they stayed chewy though so that was a perk. I just wasn't a fan of the flavor, although some of my friend that I use as guinea pigs liked these more than the 'Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies' that have vanilla pudding in them. I think I'll make these again without the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Wow! I was a little scared to try the pepper in it at first, but I ended up really enjoying this! I used less pepper and didn't tell my friends about it, and they could definately tell there was something different, they just didn't know what it was. They all eneded up really liking them and I will definately make these again. They were chewey, too, which is definately a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This recipe has been in my recipe box since February 2011, high time I made them. I love to play "guess the ingredient" with my friends and co-workers, and that is exactly what I did with this recipe. That being said, do not be afraid of the 1 teaspoon of white pepper, as most people didn't detect the 'heat' at all in the cookie. The only change I made was to refrigerate the dough and baked the cookies on parchment paper. A good chocolate chip cookie that is a little different from most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Kind of just like average chocolate chip cookies. They were good enough but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Verona, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I love this recipe but instead of the pepper I added a tablespoon of cinnamon and it was delicious! Thank you for the recipe. My family loves it and it is very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States