Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was AMAZING! I am so glad I tried it. Quizno's used to carry Chicken Corn Chowder and I was obsessed... then they discontinued it and I have not been satisfied since. This was EVER BETTER!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. The only thing I change was I used Green Onions instead of Leeks since my store did not have them. I also left out the hot sauce due to personal taste. Finally, I left out the red pepper and used the frozen southwestern corn in the steamed bags instead that have chopped red peppers in them. Perfect recipe, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is an excellent fall dinner! My husband and children loved it. I substituted a sweet potato for one of the potatoes and added 1 chopped small acorn squash with the potatoes. Is great with 2% milk instead of half-n-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedDragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My husband, who is a very choosy former chef and cooks for us much of the time, said it was the best thing I've ever made and he wished he had a bigger stomach! The only change I made is one of my favorite shortcuts. Instead of cutting up and cooking the chicken, I used two large cans of canned chicken, drained and used 2 tablespoons of butter to saute the vegetables since canned chicken is already cooked. My husband said that I could have used the juice instead of draining the cans, but I was afraid that it would make the chowder too thin. Since canned chicken is already cooked, I jumped ahead to sauteing the vegetables in 2 tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Falls, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This broth had a GREAT flavor, but I wasn't a huge fan of the chunks of chicken and potatoes (personal preference). Next time, I think I'll use my immersion blender to blend the potatoes a bit and I'll shred the chicken. I'll also add even more corn. This is def worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This chowder is wonderful! My husband had three bowls! The only change I made was to use onion instead of leeks. Definetely make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good. I did sub 1 can creamed corn for part of the frozen corn, onion for the leek, and added some minced garlic. It was filling and great for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Overall good, but needed more veggies, corn flavor and definitely pepper. We'll make this again as it has a good flavor and is good on cold rainy nights but we'll doctor it a bit the second round :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This chowder was delicious! I omitted the Worchestershire sauce, and added about a half-cup more chicken broth to make it a bit soupier, and it was great. I'd use milk next time just to cut down on fat, but overall it's a terrific winter dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Delish!! Made mine really spicy. =P plenty of room to adjust to your taste: -season chicken with salt & pepper, saute with minced garlic -sub sweet potato/baby yukon/red (cubed sweet potato, and sliced baby yukon & red into 1/8" rounds) -sub 1 can creamed corn & 1 whole kernel corn -sub onion and green onion for the leek - this time i omitted sweet red pepper (not a big deal)- next time I'll add a stalk or two of celery -soy sauce or worcestershire -for hot sauce = 1/4-1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon chipotle in adobo sauce, dash chalula -sub milk for 1/2 of the half & half, top with shredded parmesan or motz and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
We really enjoyed this & will make it again but I can't say it blew me away. I stuck to recipe but did add more broth, somewhere between 5 & 6 cups total. Served with a side salad & some crusty bread, great on a cold fall/winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States