Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is an excellent fall dinner! My husband and children loved it. I substituted a sweet potato for one of the potatoes and added 1 chopped small acorn squash with the potatoes. Is great with 2% milk instead of half-n-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedDragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This chowder was delicious! I omitted the Worchestershire sauce, and added about a half-cup more chicken broth to make it a bit soupier, and it was great. I'd use milk next time just to cut down on fat, but overall it's a terrific winter dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Quick, easy and delicious! I used 2% milk instead of half and half and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a very adaptable recipe. We made it for four portions. I started by browning 4 strips of bacon in the pot & then setting them aside. The chicken was then cooked in the bacon fat. Didn't have any leeks in the house, so I substitued some green onion. Had a bag of frozen corn with red & green peppers in the freezer, so I used that instead of adding the red pepper. Used 2% milk instead of the half & half. Crumled the bacon strips on top of the chowder when it was served. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was AMAZING! I am so glad I tried it. Quizno's used to carry Chicken Corn Chowder and I was obsessed... then they discontinued it and I have not been satisfied since. This was EVER BETTER!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. The only thing I change was I used Green Onions instead of Leeks since my store did not have them. I also left out the hot sauce due to personal taste. Finally, I left out the red pepper and used the frozen southwestern corn in the steamed bags instead that have chopped red peppers in them. Perfect recipe, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Really good, no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikejcassam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this chowder as directed and I wouldn't change a thing! This was delicious! I was thrilled that the recipe made 10 servings. It was enough that my family of 5 could have it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This chowder was super easy and SO YUMMY!!! The only thing I did different was to use smoked paprika (because it was all I had in my spice cabinet) and I think it actually made it better with the nice smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
this was really good. I used left over corn on the cob and left over baked potatoes from a bbq we had. I also boiled the chicken in the broth instead of cooking it in the pan. I like poached chicken better. I think next time I will double the red pepper sauce as I would like it spicier. My husband called it a bisque and was very happy with it. I think it is one of my favorite soups now! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Overall good, but needed more veggies, corn flavor and definitely pepper. We'll make this again as it has a good flavor and is good on cold rainy nights but we'll doctor it a bit the second round :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States