Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
So delicious! The whole family loved it and I'll make it over and over again. I'm not a real paprika fan, so substitued a tsp or so of cumin - highly recommend that! I had a few jalepenos that had to be used up and they tasted good in there, too. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This recipe was good, but nothing special. It seemed a bit bland for my husband and I - definitely very fresh and a nice comfort meal, but a bit disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aimeelynn
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was really tasty. I boiled the chicken so I would have shredded meat rather than cubed. I found the chowder to be really thick after adding flour, so I used two cans of corn and added the water it came in, which made the flavor a little too sweet. I also used about five cups of chicken broth, as others have mentioned. The hot sauce I used was Sriracha, and I skipped the Worcestershire. I had to let mine simmer much longer than the recipe called for, because the potatoes took a long time to soften. I subbed 2% milk for the cream, to lighten it up a bit. I served the chowder with cheddar biscuits that I also found on this site. Great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I discovered this at a church soup supper. It is fantastic. To make it more diet friendly, I will use fat free creamer and also use a spray to brown the red pepper. Instead of browning the flour in butter (which won't be there), I will use cornstarch instead to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was delicious, but needed garlic in it. I sauteed the peppers with a tsp of minced garlic, and added some garlic powder to it. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made this exactly like written, but omitted the leeks, I didn't have any. Used more onion. So I guess I didn't do it just as written, huh? LOL Anyway, it was a hit on the table. Hubby loved it. I enjoyed the spicy bite it gives you and the crunchy chips on top! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a HUGE hit at a football party. Even the picky meat-only eaters couldn't get enough! I wouldn't change a thing, except maybe add a few more leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I went heavy on the corn and added two large potatoes. Diced everything, including chicken, pretty small. Added ground pepper. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I'm loving this chowda! Fairly simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
My husband and I both thought this recipe was really bland. I made it as stated and ended up adding about 1 1/2 teaspoons of pepper, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1 teaspoon of chili powder and 1/2 teaspoon cumin. It's still not that great. I agree with other users that there is too much chicken and it would be much better shredded instead of in chunks. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States