Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
this was really good. I used left over corn on the cob and left over baked potatoes from a bbq we had. I also boiled the chicken in the broth instead of cooking it in the pan. I like poached chicken better. I think next time I will double the red pepper sauce as I would like it spicier. My husband called it a bisque and was very happy with it. I think it is one of my favorite soups now! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a very adaptable recipe. We made it for four portions. I started by browning 4 strips of bacon in the pot & then setting them aside. The chicken was then cooked in the bacon fat. Didn't have any leeks in the house, so I substitued some green onion. Had a bag of frozen corn with red & green peppers in the freezer, so I used that instead of adding the red pepper. Used 2% milk instead of the half & half. Crumled the bacon strips on top of the chowder when it was served. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was AMAZING! I am so glad I tried it. Quizno's used to carry Chicken Corn Chowder and I was obsessed... then they discontinued it and I have not been satisfied since. This was EVER BETTER!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. The only thing I change was I used Green Onions instead of Leeks since my store did not have them. I also left out the hot sauce due to personal taste. Finally, I left out the red pepper and used the frozen southwestern corn in the steamed bags instead that have chopped red peppers in them. Perfect recipe, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Really good, no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikejcassam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this chowder as directed and I wouldn't change a thing! This was delicious! I was thrilled that the recipe made 10 servings. It was enough that my family of 5 could have it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This chowder was super easy and SO YUMMY!!! The only thing I did different was to use smoked paprika (because it was all I had in my spice cabinet) and I think it actually made it better with the nice smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was a great starter recipe for what turned out to be an awesome chicken corn chowder! I did not use leeks. Instead I used 1 large onion and 3 cloves garlic. I added cayenne pepper and a jar of salsa to spice it up. This was great re-heated in the microwave for work lunch! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coventry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This recipie is AMAZING. My other half devoured it and after when I told him it wasnt a cream based soup, he was speechlesss! I didnt add a couple of things, I sauteed the chicken with some fresh minced garlic, and I used much more flour than the recipie called for to make it much thicker. Also, at the end I stirred in about a cup of chedder cheese. I will definitley be making this one many, many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Enjoyed this soup. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Absolutely perfect Fall Fare. Kids loved it, adults loved it. Democrats and Republicans loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States