Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was AMAZING! I am so glad I tried it. Quizno's used to carry Chicken Corn Chowder and I was obsessed... then they discontinued it and I have not been satisfied since. This was EVER BETTER!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. The only thing I change was I used Green Onions instead of Leeks since my store did not have them. I also left out the hot sauce due to personal taste. Finally, I left out the red pepper and used the frozen southwestern corn in the steamed bags instead that have chopped red peppers in them. Perfect recipe, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is an excellent fall dinner! My husband and children loved it. I substituted a sweet potato for one of the potatoes and added 1 chopped small acorn squash with the potatoes. Is great with 2% milk instead of half-n-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedDragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My husband, who is a very choosy former chef and cooks for us much of the time, said it was the best thing I've ever made and he wished he had a bigger stomach! The only change I made is one of my favorite shortcuts. Instead of cutting up and cooking the chicken, I used two large cans of canned chicken, drained and used 2 tablespoons of butter to saute the vegetables since canned chicken is already cooked. My husband said that I could have used the juice instead of draining the cans, but I was afraid that it would make the chowder too thin. Since canned chicken is already cooked, I jumped ahead to sauteing the vegetables in 2 tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Falls, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This broth had a GREAT flavor, but I wasn't a huge fan of the chunks of chicken and potatoes (personal preference). Next time, I think I'll use my immersion blender to blend the potatoes a bit and I'll shred the chicken. I'll also add even more corn. This is def worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This chowder is wonderful! My husband had three bowls! The only change I made was to use onion instead of leeks. Definetely make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good. I did sub 1 can creamed corn for part of the frozen corn, onion for the leek, and added some minced garlic. It was filling and great for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Overall good, but needed more veggies, corn flavor and definitely pepper. We'll make this again as it has a good flavor and is good on cold rainy nights but we'll doctor it a bit the second round :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This chowder was delicious! I omitted the Worchestershire sauce, and added about a half-cup more chicken broth to make it a bit soupier, and it was great. I'd use milk next time just to cut down on fat, but overall it's a terrific winter dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Delish!! Made mine really spicy. =P plenty of room to adjust to your taste: -season chicken with salt & pepper, saute with minced garlic -sub sweet potato/baby yukon/red (cubed sweet potato, and sliced baby yukon & red into 1/8" rounds) -sub 1 can creamed corn & 1 whole kernel corn -sub onion and green onion for the leek - this time i omitted sweet red pepper (not a big deal)- next time I'll add a stalk or two of celery -soy sauce or worcestershire -for hot sauce = 1/4-1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon chipotle in adobo sauce, dash chalula -sub milk for 1/2 of the half & half, top with shredded parmesan or motz and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
We really enjoyed this & will make it again but I can't say it blew me away. I stuck to recipe but did add more broth, somewhere between 5 & 6 cups total. Served with a side salad & some crusty bread, great on a cold fall/winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States