Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This recipie is AMAZING. My other half devoured it and after when I told him it wasnt a cream based soup, he was speechlesss! I didnt add a couple of things, I sauteed the chicken with some fresh minced garlic, and I used much more flour than the recipie called for to make it much thicker. Also, at the end I stirred in about a cup of chedder cheese. I will definitley be making this one many, many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was a great starter recipe for what turned out to be an awesome chicken corn chowder! I did not use leeks. Instead I used 1 large onion and 3 cloves garlic. I added cayenne pepper and a jar of salsa to spice it up. This was great re-heated in the microwave for work lunch! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coventry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Overall good, but needed more veggies, corn flavor and definitely pepper. We'll make this again as it has a good flavor and is good on cold rainy nights but we'll doctor it a bit the second round :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
this was really good. I used left over corn on the cob and left over baked potatoes from a bbq we had. I also boiled the chicken in the broth instead of cooking it in the pan. I like poached chicken better. I think next time I will double the red pepper sauce as I would like it spicier. My husband called it a bisque and was very happy with it. I think it is one of my favorite soups now! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This chowder was super easy and SO YUMMY!!! The only thing I did different was to use smoked paprika (because it was all I had in my spice cabinet) and I think it actually made it better with the nice smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this chowder as directed and I wouldn't change a thing! This was delicious! I was thrilled that the recipe made 10 servings. It was enough that my family of 5 could have it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Really good, no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikejcassam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was AMAZING! I am so glad I tried it. Quizno's used to carry Chicken Corn Chowder and I was obsessed... then they discontinued it and I have not been satisfied since. This was EVER BETTER!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. The only thing I change was I used Green Onions instead of Leeks since my store did not have them. I also left out the hot sauce due to personal taste. Finally, I left out the red pepper and used the frozen southwestern corn in the steamed bags instead that have chopped red peppers in them. Perfect recipe, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a very adaptable recipe. We made it for four portions. I started by browning 4 strips of bacon in the pot & then setting them aside. The chicken was then cooked in the bacon fat. Didn't have any leeks in the house, so I substitued some green onion. Had a bag of frozen corn with red & green peppers in the freezer, so I used that instead of adding the red pepper. Used 2% milk instead of the half & half. Crumled the bacon strips on top of the chowder when it was served. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Quick, easy and delicious! I used 2% milk instead of half and half and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States