Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Delish!! Made mine really spicy. =P plenty of room to adjust to your taste: -season chicken with salt & pepper, saute with minced garlic -sub sweet potato/baby yukon/red (cubed sweet potato, and sliced baby yukon & red into 1/8" rounds) -sub 1 can creamed corn & 1 whole kernel corn -sub onion and green onion for the leek - this time i omitted sweet red pepper (not a big deal)- next time I'll add a stalk or two of celery -soy sauce or worcestershire -for hot sauce = 1/4-1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon chipotle in adobo sauce, dash chalula -sub milk for 1/2 of the half & half, top with shredded parmesan or motz and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was to die for! I did make just a few modifications. I didn't use leeks, added a green pepper, added cayenne pepper for extra hot spice, cut down on the corn a bit and used fat-free half and half. It was simply amazing even with the fat free half and half. Will add this one permanently to the recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I mad this today. It is very good. I did make a few changes. I used about 4 1/2 cups of chicken broth, I could tell it was going to be too thick. I also added 1 can of cream corn, a jalpeno, 1 stick of celery finely chopped,extra hot sauce& more salt than recipe called for. I thought it needed it, for a little more flavor. I also put 2 gloves of garlic. I put about 1 1/2 cups of half & half. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My husband, who is a very choosy former chef and cooks for us much of the time, said it was the best thing I've ever made and he wished he had a bigger stomach! The only change I made is one of my favorite shortcuts. Instead of cutting up and cooking the chicken, I used two large cans of canned chicken, drained and used 2 tablespoons of butter to saute the vegetables since canned chicken is already cooked. My husband said that I could have used the juice instead of draining the cans, but I was afraid that it would make the chowder too thin. Since canned chicken is already cooked, I jumped ahead to sauteing the vegetables in 2 tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Falls, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
So easy! And boy was it good! The family loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is wonderful! I did make a few changes based on what I had on hand and what needed to be used up. I added one zucchini, used a kielbasa instead of chicken, and I didn't have any hot sauce so I used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes instead. Also, halved the butter and left out the salt because sausage is already pretty salty. So, I know I changed a lot of things but I'm SURE based on reviews its great as written, but for those looking for a variation I highly recommend it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good. I did sub 1 can creamed corn for part of the frozen corn, onion for the leek, and added some minced garlic. It was filling and great for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
We really enjoyed this & will make it again but I can't say it blew me away. I stuck to recipe but did add more broth, somewhere between 5 & 6 cups total. Served with a side salad & some crusty bread, great on a cold fall/winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Absolutely perfect Fall Fare. Kids loved it, adults loved it. Democrats and Republicans loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Enjoyed this soup. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States