Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Delish!! Made mine really spicy. =P plenty of room to adjust to your taste: -season chicken with salt & pepper, saute with minced garlic -sub sweet potato/baby yukon/red (cubed sweet potato, and sliced baby yukon & red into 1/8" rounds) -sub 1 can creamed corn & 1 whole kernel corn -sub onion and green onion for the leek - this time i omitted sweet red pepper (not a big deal)- next time I'll add a stalk or two of celery -soy sauce or worcestershire -for hot sauce = 1/4-1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon chipotle in adobo sauce, dash chalula -sub milk for 1/2 of the half & half, top with shredded parmesan or motz and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was to die for! I did make just a few modifications. I didn't use leeks, added a green pepper, added cayenne pepper for extra hot spice, cut down on the corn a bit and used fat-free half and half. It was simply amazing even with the fat free half and half. Will add this one permanently to the recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I mad this today. It is very good. I did make a few changes. I used about 4 1/2 cups of chicken broth, I could tell it was going to be too thick. I also added 1 can of cream corn, a jalpeno, 1 stick of celery finely chopped,extra hot sauce& more salt than recipe called for. I thought it needed it, for a little more flavor. I also put 2 gloves of garlic. I put about 1 1/2 cups of half & half. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My husband, who is a very choosy former chef and cooks for us much of the time, said it was the best thing I've ever made and he wished he had a bigger stomach! The only change I made is one of my favorite shortcuts. Instead of cutting up and cooking the chicken, I used two large cans of canned chicken, drained and used 2 tablespoons of butter to saute the vegetables since canned chicken is already cooked. My husband said that I could have used the juice instead of draining the cans, but I was afraid that it would make the chowder too thin. Since canned chicken is already cooked, I jumped ahead to sauteing the vegetables in 2 tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Falls, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
So easy! And boy was it good! The family loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is wonderful! I did make a few changes based on what I had on hand and what needed to be used up. I added one zucchini, used a kielbasa instead of chicken, and I didn't have any hot sauce so I used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes instead. Also, halved the butter and left out the salt because sausage is already pretty salty. So, I know I changed a lot of things but I'm SURE based on reviews its great as written, but for those looking for a variation I highly recommend it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good. I did sub 1 can creamed corn for part of the frozen corn, onion for the leek, and added some minced garlic. It was filling and great for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
We really enjoyed this & will make it again but I can't say it blew me away. I stuck to recipe but did add more broth, somewhere between 5 & 6 cups total. Served with a side salad & some crusty bread, great on a cold fall/winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Absolutely perfect Fall Fare. Kids loved it, adults loved it. Democrats and Republicans loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Enjoyed this soup. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States