Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was a very good soup. I will definitely make it again. I added a couple more cups of corn and an extra potato cuz I love both those. I also didn't put any hot sauce in as I'm not a spicy foods fan and neither is my daughter. Due to adding the extra corn and potatoes I had to add about 1 1/2 cups of extra chicken broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartmaddiegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
very good i have been making this a few years. i use sriracha hoi chili sauce with a rooster on front, you can find it in the asian food. its very good and adds a lot of spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmm

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Hmm...it's pretty good, but a bit on the bland side (weird, for something with "zippy" in the title!) If I make it again, I'll probably go a little heavier on the hot pepper sauce and add pepper. Still, a nice basic fall or winter soup recipe that is suitable for a wide variety of appetites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Excellent! My husband and I love this so much I double the recipe every time I make it. We like a little more hot sauce and I cut back on the chicken a bit, but it is fantastic as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This broth had a GREAT flavor, but I wasn't a huge fan of the chunks of chicken and potatoes (personal preference). Next time, I think I'll use my immersion blender to blend the potatoes a bit and I'll shred the chicken. I'll also add even more corn. This is def worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I just made this soup and I love it. It is really flavorful and creamy. My only regret is that I only had 1 can of corn and it would have been better to have more. Also, I subbed onion for the leak and an orange pepper for red. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This chowder is wonderful! My husband had three bowls! The only change I made was to use onion instead of leeks. Definetely make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EdPeters1
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Good soup! I have always like corn chowders and this also satisfied my love for a little spice in my food. Pretty hearty soup so I would suggest omitting the bread unless you don't want to get off the couch after eating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdPeters1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
My family gave this chowder two thumbs up. The hot sauce gives the best little kick to it; pleasing to the adults, yet not to overpowering for the kids. Will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
One of my new favorite soups!! We used kielbasa dices up and sauteed. I didnt have a red pepper but i did use frozen mexican corn and added more chicken stock to reach the thickness my family prefers. Great spice and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States