Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was a very good soup. I will definitely make it again. I added a couple more cups of corn and an extra potato cuz I love both those. I also didn't put any hot sauce in as I'm not a spicy foods fan and neither is my daughter. Due to adding the extra corn and potatoes I had to add about 1 1/2 cups of extra chicken broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartmaddiegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
very good i have been making this a few years. i use sriracha hoi chili sauce with a rooster on front, you can find it in the asian food. its very good and adds a lot of spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmm

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Hmm...it's pretty good, but a bit on the bland side (weird, for something with "zippy" in the title!) If I make it again, I'll probably go a little heavier on the hot pepper sauce and add pepper. Still, a nice basic fall or winter soup recipe that is suitable for a wide variety of appetites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Excellent! My husband and I love this so much I double the recipe every time I make it. We like a little more hot sauce and I cut back on the chicken a bit, but it is fantastic as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This broth had a GREAT flavor, but I wasn't a huge fan of the chunks of chicken and potatoes (personal preference). Next time, I think I'll use my immersion blender to blend the potatoes a bit and I'll shred the chicken. I'll also add even more corn. This is def worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I just made this soup and I love it. It is really flavorful and creamy. My only regret is that I only had 1 can of corn and it would have been better to have more. Also, I subbed onion for the leak and an orange pepper for red. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This chowder is wonderful! My husband had three bowls! The only change I made was to use onion instead of leeks. Definetely make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EdPeters1
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Good soup! I have always like corn chowders and this also satisfied my love for a little spice in my food. Pretty hearty soup so I would suggest omitting the bread unless you don't want to get off the couch after eating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdPeters1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
My family gave this chowder two thumbs up. The hot sauce gives the best little kick to it; pleasing to the adults, yet not to overpowering for the kids. Will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
One of my new favorite soups!! We used kielbasa dices up and sauteed. I didnt have a red pepper but i did use frozen mexican corn and added more chicken stock to reach the thickness my family prefers. Great spice and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States