Zippy Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I just finished my last bowl of this soup & I can't wait to make it again, it was so good! I made a few changes. First, I boiled regular chicken breasts then skinned & deboned them, retaining the stock for the soup. I used onions instead of leeks & fresh corn cut off the cob instead of frozen corn. I might not have used as much hot sauce as it called for because I added a little at a time until it was the right spiciness for me. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Wife and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was really yummy! The cubed chicken didn't get very tender, so next time I am going to try this in the crock pot. However, the flavor of the broth was delicious and we really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I had really high hopes for this soup! It wasn't bad, but when made as posted, it was a bit bland and just missing something. With these changes, I think I'd bump it up to 4 stars: I ended up throwing in a small can of diced green chiles which was a good addition. Added some garlic salt too. I ended up using my potato masher to break up the potatoes for a less chunky texture. All that said, my husband did compliment it, but I'm not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cr84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is super-yummy... but it did take me much longer than 40 minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayalicious

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I would have given this soup five stars, but I ended up having to add so much to give it the flavor I was looking for that I just couldn't. Maybe it would have been better if I'd used leeks, but since I didn't have any, I just used regular onion. I did shred the chicken, as per other reviewers suggestions, and ended up adding 2 1/2 extra teaspoons of hot sauce, a 1/4 tsp cumin and few dashes of cayenne. It didn't have enough liquid so next time I think I'll add more half and half, since I prefer creamy soups. Was a good base, just needed to be kicked up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
A very tasty soup for a weeknight, comes together in a snap. I baked the chicken in the oven and shredded, then added to the soup. Other than that I made as written. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Doris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy to make great taste- used used a 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle pepper powder instead of hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My husband and I both loved this chowder! Total comfort food and very easy to make. My husband doesn't like red pepper so I used 1/2 a carrot instead. I also tripled the potatoes because I needed to use some up, but I cut them into about 1/2 inch cubes and the taste and consistency was fine. I also replaced the half and half with sour cream because that's what I had on hand. If you're using regular chicken broth, you don't need extra salt. Tastes great when topped with crushed tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was great as is, easy to make and delicious. My only deviation was that I had to make my own chicken broth (with bouillon cubes) so instead of cooking the chicken separately in a skillet, I boiled it with the broth. On my second batch, I cut it down to one leek, added a small diced onion, and 1/2 tsp of cumin for a Mexican flavor. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States