Zippy Beef Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Will make again! Just using what I had on hand, I substituted regular onions for the green, yogurt for sour cream, mexican blend cheese for the monterey jack, left out the mushrooms, and cooked minute brown rice in the dish instead of using cooked rice. I also added a chopped bell pepper and a handful of chopped grape tomatoes. The only change I will make is to use less salt next time. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I would give this 4 or even 5 stars, but husband wasn't thrilled about the zucchini. I used cooked brown basmati rice, 7% fat beef and reduced fat sour cream and cheddar, no additional oil. I really liked it, and will make again, just need to find a substitute for the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Instead of rice I used up an assortment of noodles I had on hand. I cooked the pasta before putting it in the mix and followed the baking instructions as directed. I omitted the butter - no need for it. I didn't have any cheese, but didn't miss it. In addition to the ingredients listed, I added a couple of jalapeno peppers I had on hand, yellow summer squash, and black olives. Yum! The jalapenos made it live up to it's "zippy" name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was really good. I substituted bell peppers for mushrooms and added a little of Emril's southwest seasoning. My family loved it and they want me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This recipe was a HUGE hit with my pickiest eater! So much so that she told me she wanted the recipe to keep just for herself (she doesn't trust me to not lose it)!!! I cut all the veggies into small size cubes/chunks, evenly proportioned, and added some red sweet bell pepper to the mix. I also used 3 whole smaller green onion stalks, slicing them into thin rounds, instead of just 2 tbs. The veggies were sauteed in 1 tbs. olive oil, 2 tsp. butter, and 1/4 cup Port wine. The meat I used was precooked ground round with taco seasoning (left over from dinner the night before), so it was added to the veggie mixture about half way through their cooking time. Also, I cooked more white rice than the recipe calls for and ended up adding a little more to the veggie/meat mix to my liking. It balanced out well, considering I'd added extra veggies to the mix. The recipe came out a slightly wetter than I would expect from a casserole, even adding the extras. My rice didn't turn out as dry and fluffy as it should, so I'm guessing that had something to do with it. We usually eat brown rice which requires more liquid for the extended cook time, so I'm out of practice with the white rice. There were 5 of us eating this meal, so I served it with tortilla chips, salsa, and whole pinto beans to "build-your-own" nachos plate, plus green salad on the side. I think I'll substitute tofu sour cream next time and add cumin and cilantro. Double it for more than 4 people or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Good recipe! Since I don't like rice casseroles, I left out the rice and instead served it with mashed potatoes. Since I like tomatoes with zucchini, I added a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. Perfect dinner with yummy leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe as written but with one change: I had to substitute jalapeño for the green chiles because they are not available in our area. My family said it was just okay. My husband had to be told it was supposed to taste Mexican-ish. We thought the flavor was just a little bland and dull. It was fine, but nothing to get excited about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I used one pound of ground beef and didn't need the butter. I used a teaspoon of garlic powder and 1 1/2 cups of cheese. I left out the salt and we added salt and pepper at the table. Next time I will use a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies to add some more color to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Family loved this and went for seconds. I used a can of tomatoes and green chiles. The tomato added nice color but I think it needed more green chiles. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was OK. Not a top pick according to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States