Zesty Tilapia with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I make this on a regular basis. I have made a few changes to the recipe. Since we love lemons, I replaced the limes with lemons, and I don't use the zest. I also use either canned or sliced fresh white mushrooms, and I experimented until I was happy with the amount of mushrooms and green onions I use, which is many more than called for, because we like the topping, and I also like to saute the onion and mushrooms in the pan 1st , then take them out of the pan and set them aside, and cook the fish, then re-top the fish after it's cooked. I serve the fish with Sante Fe Rice. It's a pre-cooked rice by ( I think ) Uncle Bens. Awesome meal! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
My husband and I weren't huge fans of this dish... We thought a creamier sauce would have more complimentary to the tilapia, next time we will try more butter and maybe some olive oil to thicken it up. Worth a try though, the lime taste is very different and gave me ideas for other dishes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Followed the recipe as stated. The only change I made was added a splash of white wine as the fish cooked. Delicious! My husband loved it and he hates eating fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Outstanding! EASY and I thought it was a really nice presentation and would use it for company! I served it with 4 spears of Asparagus across the top of the fish and some rice or potato and you've got an amazingly delicious and easy dinner that everyone will love (as long as they eat mushrooms)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Used cremini mushrooms. FANTASTIC!!! Best tilapia recipe we've tried so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This recipe was easy, but not thrilling. Tilapia is a rather bland fish and I feel that this recipe didn't add enough flavor, but I would make it again if I was in a pinch and needed a quick fish dish, because it's quick and uses ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
One of my favorite fish recipes. Used tilapia for my husband and salmon for myself, both were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
We generally don't like fish unless it is Mrs. Paul's, so I am happy to find a recipe that we like that is healthy too. Thanks for a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My boyfriend and I loved it. I cut up half a green pepper and stirred it in with the onions and mushrooms, and used half the lime juice, but other than that I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I loved this, but I love citrus. I did not use the lemon zest & only the juice of one lime. I sauted the mushrooms & garlic first then set them aside and tossed it with minced chives. When I flipped the tilapia I spooned the mushroom mixture over the fish to reheat. I served this dish with steamed carrots. My 6 & 4 yr olds ate every last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States