Zesty Tilapia with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
It was fast and very simple to make. It was desent enough to eat, but the lime really threw me off.....maybe I used too much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is probably the best recipe on this site that I've tried so far. I couldn't find wild-caught tilapia, and I'm very new to fish, so I ended up with mahi mahi instead. I don't really like strong flavored fish, so this was a huge mistake on my part. That said, despite not liking the fish itself, the recipe was so good that I liked the dish anyway! I wish I could give it 10 stars. It was a perfect combination of lemon and mushrooms (although I went with baby portabellas -- I don't think that change affected the recipe much). I could still taste the fish, but it was fine because of the way it blended with the other ingredients. I suppose if you don't like a strong lemon/lime flavor, you might not like this recipe. For me, it will always be my go-to recipe if I ever choose a stronger fish again. I am thinking of trying it with salmon, and, of course, tilapia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great new way to make tilapia. I put the rehydrated mushrooms in a food processor before I added to pan and then served the mushroom/green onion mixture as topping for the tilapia. I will make more topping next time as it tasted so go with every bite of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I love mushrooms, and this recipe was really delicious with the fish. A hit with all family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Everyone in the family LOVED this recipe. Even the kids! Easy to prepare and doesn't take long at all. Wondering how to make a tilapia dish? Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I don't usually alter recipes but I had to use what I had on hand. I seasoned the tilapia with blackened redfish seasoning. I sauteed shallots and fresh baby bella mushrooms in butter and deglazed the pan with a little white wine. Then added the fish and lime juice with a little more butter. It was delicious and I didn't have to go to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I'm going to try this recipe again exactly as written to see if I can get a better result. I had to make a few changes based on what I had on hand. First change was to use the lime zest instead of lemon zest. Hubby didn't like it said it was too strong a lime flavor. So, I'm hoping that the lemon zest will mellow out the lime flavor a bit. Second change was to use a package of stir-fry mix dried mushrooms. I don't this this changed the recipe much and it gave it an interesting look. Last change was to use 4 4oz filets and not cut them in half. I think 2oz serving per person isn't enough. I'll update my review when we try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
yum!! I made this for lunch today! very tasty! I did used regular mushrooms and added some sliced bell pepper and just used lemon juice no lemon zest! very simple and so quick to throw together!! I eat a lot of fish so I will make this AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Definitely will make this again! Very light and healthy. I used just regular mushrooms that I had chopped it up. Next time, I will sauté the green onions and mushrooms before I add the tilapia to soften them up and flavor them a bit more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was very tasty, pretty easy, low calorie so it will become a regular although I'm not sure it's in the ALL TIME FAVS category. I did modify it. First based on a comment I used 1/2 the lime juice figuring I could add more later, which I didn't think it needed. It was nicely tart without being over powered with 1/2 the lime juice and the test of one lemon for 3 talapia fillets. Second, I used regular white mushrooms which I sauted in a little bit of olive oil in a hot heavy frying pan till they were brown, and soft but not soggy. Third, I had no scallions, the dish survived without them. Fourth, I had a can of hearts of palm open so I sliced them and added them with the mushrooms. They took up the seasoning nicely and I'm going to include them next time too. Fifth - on a diet - no butter, just the smallest amount of olive oil so the fish didn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States