Zesty Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I really enjoyed the change-up with the steak sauce instead of spaghetti sauce. Everyone in my family enjoyed it. Will be making it again for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Wasn't bad, but the amount of steak sauce to add overpowered the flavor. I think I'll stick with my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These were delicious. I used red peppers too because I like the sweeter flavor. I did however omit the steak sauce just because I don't like it. And, after reading the reviews I added 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes to the stuffing mixture for some heat. I had not had stuffed peppers since I was a kid (long time ago, I'm 70) my mom used to make lots of economical dishes in the fifties, so we had these often and she would stuff them with just about anything, even left over spaghetti and sprinked with parmesean.....gee that brings back memories, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These were a lot of fun! We followed the recipe for the most part, but replaced the rice in the filling with cous cous (a substitute in a jiffy! no one missed the rice) and used a steak "splash" because we didn't have steak sauce. Gave it a zesty taste that everyone loved. Topped with a bit of cheddar and mozza. We will definitely be making this again. I can imagine throwing all sorts of leftover meat sauces into peppers and baking it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was a great recipe. I made it vegetarian by adding Grillers meat substitute and used fresh tomatoes in addition to the tomato sauce and used brown rice. Hubby and kids really enjoyed this! (So did I!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachxl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I used red peppers for added sweetness, which were absolutely adorable while boiling in the pot! I also skipped the corn, replaced tomato sauce with paste, added some precooked brown rice and piled in a topping of feta cheese. Quite a few changes, but then stuffed peppers are flexible--whatever you think would be good inside there probably will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachxl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I added italian sausage and it gave it great flavor! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I used ground turkey which I browned with a little vegetable oil since it does not throw off much fat during cooking. It turned out great - will definately try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe!! I used ground turkey instead of beef and added cilantro and chopped jalapenos. Next time I'll try seasoning the meat with taco or fajita seasoning and sprinkling cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very tasty! This was a quick, easy, and healthy lunch. We did follow the original recipe, except to keep this vegetarian, we used Morningstar meat substitute instead of ground beef. We felt it needed just a tad more "zing" for us, so we both splashed on a few dashes of hot sauce on it after cooking and it was perfect. Next time I will add the hot sauce into the meat mixture before stuffing the peppers. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States