Zesty Southern Pasta and Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2001
We had the family, both sides, over for Mother's Day yesterday. My husband was frying a turkey so I was looking for something with a cajun flavor - but not too spicy hot - to complement the main dish. It was an absolute hit from the oldest to the youngest. And so incredibly simple to make. I am just adding that I've been making this recipe for several years since finding it on Allrecipes and it is ALWAYS a hit. People beg me to make this. I think though that it is better to make this the day before and let the flavors meld. When I take this to a party nothing EVER comes home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I made this today and it was very good - with my changes. I used 1/2 teaspoon of the cumin and chili powder as others noted it had too much cumin and tasted like chili. I also used Hiden Valley Spicey Ranch dressing instead of italian. WoW! yummy! I didn't have tomatoes so I used a LARGE can of diced tomatoes - drained and rinsed lightly. Definately would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chinook, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
As per usual, I changed it up a bit. :) I used more like 2½ cups of uncooked rotini, closer to the half-cup of Italian dressing, and a 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes with oregano and garlic (drained and rinsed). I omitted the cumin, chili powder, and red pepper flakes. I used a few good shakes of onion and garlic powders, and I chilled the salad for three or four hours before eating. It tasted like one of those boxed pasta salad mixes from the store (which is a compliment as I LIKE the Italian one!) but much more hearty with the beans. Thanks for sharing, Aria, maybe I'll actually follow the whole recipe next time 'round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe rescued me in a pinch! It was 11:00pm and I forgot that I had to bring a dish to pass for the next day! This was so simple, I literally threw it together in minutes! I didn't have onion or garlic powder, so I used 1 garlic clove (pressed) and 2 green onions (chopped). It tasted great and looked beautiful! I normally have a very sensative palate when it comes to Mexican flavoring...the milder, the better. With that in mind, I felt that the cumin in this was right on. (I even used the red pepper!) It has a really great "Mexican" flavor that is not overpowering. I will definately keep this and the ingredients on hand to make VERY often! It was also a big hit at the meeting! I even got approval from my Hispanic friend! Thanks for the recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I thought this was tasty and wholesome as an different type of side dish. I'll make this when my vegetarian nieces visit. I used whole wheat pasta to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was very yummy!!! I used a bit less cumin and added some homemade salsa. Very good and VERY EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This was fantastic! I loved it and so did everyone at the party I took it to. I tripled all the ingredients to make a large salad. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Just wonderful; I used frozen corn rather than canned. Tasted better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I made it just as the recipe said and it was terriffic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent flavor! Makes a great vegan dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States