Zesty Southern Pasta and Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
Was a MAJOR hit with the family. Has a Tex-Mex Southwestern flavor. Try adding chopped onion, salsa. Serve with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
A very easy salad to make and VERY tasty...I made it for a BBQ and it was a hit with EVERYONE! It was great for leftovers also...it aged well for a few days! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
We had the family, both sides, over for Mother's Day yesterday. My husband was frying a turkey so I was looking for something with a cajun flavor - but not too spicy hot - to complement the main dish. It was an absolute hit from the oldest to the youngest. And so incredibly simple to make. I am just adding that I've been making this recipe for several years since finding it on Allrecipes and it is ALWAYS a hit. People beg me to make this. I think though that it is better to make this the day before and let the flavors meld. When I take this to a party nothing EVER comes home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I think this is a nice salad, however, I did not care for the cumin too much, thus the 3-star rating. My husband and I both felt that its taste was almost overpowering the other ingredients. I will probably try this again, but either without the cumin or with a lot less. My tip: Try to add a little at a time and see how you like it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe rescued me in a pinch! It was 11:00pm and I forgot that I had to bring a dish to pass for the next day! This was so simple, I literally threw it together in minutes! I didn't have onion or garlic powder, so I used 1 garlic clove (pressed) and 2 green onions (chopped). It tasted great and looked beautiful! I normally have a very sensative palate when it comes to Mexican flavoring...the milder, the better. With that in mind, I felt that the cumin in this was right on. (I even used the red pepper!) It has a really great "Mexican" flavor that is not overpowering. I will definately keep this and the ingredients on hand to make VERY often! It was also a big hit at the meeting! I even got approval from my Hispanic friend! Thanks for the recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I thought this was tasty and wholesome as an different type of side dish. I'll make this when my vegetarian nieces visit. I used whole wheat pasta to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was very yummy!!! I used a bit less cumin and added some homemade salsa. Very good and VERY EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
It was okay, I can see how it would be a good dish to bring to a BBQ or something casual like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
A little dry for my tastes, and mine came out a bit too spicy. I think I added a little bit more spices than the recipe recommended, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This was fantastic! I loved it and so did everyone at the party I took it to. I tripled all the ingredients to make a large salad. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States