Zesty Southern Pasta and Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Everyone loved the salad. I had to double the recipe for my group. I was surprised not to see any onions in the recipe my group loves onions so I added. I did not have fresh tomatoes, so used can of chopped drained, this worked well. I did not have enough cummin to double nor did i double the chilli powder as per some reviews. Tasted while it chilled and it was just fine. Will ues this again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was a big hit at my house. I recommend using Hidden Valley Spicey Ranch Dressing instead of Italian. Everybody loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Makes a lot more than I expected. Great if feeding a crowd or you really like pasta salad. Taste-wise, not bad but I recommend adding a bit more Italian salad dressing, a bit more chili powder and some herbs like oregano and basil. This won't knock your socks off, but it's a good basic side dish for the summer. Just be sure to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I did not like this, I thought that it was bland and boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Somewhat disappointing, quite dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
this was pretty good. unlike many other reviewers, though, I didn't think there was enough seasoning -- I added more of everything, even cumin (I love cumin). I probably ended up doubling the seasonings. I just didn't think a teaspoon of this or that was enough for 2 cans of beans, plus corn, tomatoes, and 4 cups of cooked pasta. it ended being pretty tasty, though. for the dressing I used 'Mustard Vinaigrette' from this website. oh, and I added around 1 cup of chopped red, orange, and gold bell peppers. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. It is quick, easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
We enjoyed this. I realized a little late in the game that I didn't have any pinto beans, so I used all black beans. I did go a little light on the cumin and chili powder and was glad I did. This went well with grilled turkey burgers. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Very good! I didn't have fresh tomatoes so we used a can of diced tomatoes w/ green chilis instead. I also took the advice of others and cut the cumin, using only 1/2 Tbsp, plus omitted the salt. I made up fresh Italian dressing from a packet (about 2 cups.) and added the spices directly to it. We ended up pouring 1/2 the bottle over the salad, as my family thought it was too dry/bland at 1st, but the seasonings are great. I'm saving the rest of the dressing to add as we have the leftovers, since pasta salads seems to taste better over time, but also absorbs a lot. I think cubed cheese would be a great addition, and will try that next time. A great new summer salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent flavor! Makes a great vegan dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States