Zesty Slow-Cooker Italian Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made a couple small changes to the recipe to use what I had on hand and to add more flavor. I rubbed the roast with spices and seared the meat on all sides in a hot pan before adding it to the crockpot. I layered one sliced onion and a couple bay leaves in the bottom of the crockpot before laying in the roast. I did not have plum tomatoes, I used one half can of drained/rinsed petite diced tomatoes. I did follow the recipe's footnotes for a thicker gravy once the roast was done cooking. Though we ate this, all of us thought this would have made a better stew than a roast. It was a hearty meal that was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
The thing that's missing to give it some zing is mustard...! I always put that in my beef stew and pot roast. You really need to 'season highly' when you use the crock pot. The meat is cooking for such a long time, it needs FLAVOR..!! 'Plain old salt' is not what you need... the addition of a couple of teaspoons of granulated beef bullion (or a package of dry onion soup mix) will add the 'salt' you need, PLUS a hit of beef and onion flavor..! YUM.. Happy cooking..!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made this on high for just under 5 hours. It was amazing! Instead of making the juices thicker I just took all the veg out and made gravy. Awesome, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was very good! And so easy to make! The only thing my family felt was missing was just a little bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Not a bad recipe... easy and a pretty good flavor, but it was missing something. I would consider making again once I figure out what needs to be changed. I used two bags of Meijer frozen stew veggies, the can of soup, a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of fresh, and the garlic and spices. I didn't have any vinegar, so I used juice from half a lemon to act as a meat tenderizer instead. (Put the roast in a bowl and put the juice on it, and let it sit while I prepared the rest) For the meat, I used about 4lbs of angus chuck eye roast, because the meat counter associate recommended it over the others listed on the recipe. I cooked for 4 hours on high, without removing the cover at all. The meat turned out perfect -- when I pushed on it with a wooden spoon it just broke in half because it was so tender. It absorbed a little bit of the flavor of the ingredients, which was nice. Since the veggies were so tender and breaking apart as well, I just broke apart the entire roast, mixed it in and made it like a stew. Overall the flavor was only ok. It seems like a good jumping off point, but I think I would like it better if the tomato flavor was more robust, like in spaghetti sauce. In this recipe, the tomato is more like a base and not so much a primary component of the flavor. Maybe adding another can of tomatoes would have done the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was just... "meh" for me. The meat and vegetables cooked nicely, but it didn't seem to have much of any flavor. I have to add, I'm not much of a pot-roast fan to begin with, but still...this recipe didn't wow me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was a wonderful pot roast! The tomato sauce added a great depth of flavor. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The meat was cooked perfectly (very tender) but there was absolutely no flavor to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
great - just cut the potatoes & carrots smaller, they where under cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this just as is and my only complaint is that it was bland. Next time I'll add more seasoning to it for flavor. Other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elsysgv
Home Town: Asherton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States