Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I used thawed chicken breast about 1.5 lbs. I used original Sweet Baby Rays. I added chopped onion and garlic in addition to the other ingredients. The flavors worked well together. I cooked this on medium heat in the slow cooker 3 hours, then shredded the chicken and returned it to the pot to continue for another 2 hours. Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Absolutely fabulous!! I have to say that this recipe turned out great for me as my most pickiest eater LOVE it had seconds. She pretty much licked the plate clean. I did revise it a little bit by only adding half the barbecue sauce in the beginning and then about 30 minutes before it was done, I added the rest and I only shredded half the chicken and left the other. All in all it was a hit in my home and I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Very easy to make. I made it according to the recipe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Just tried this recipe with 6 frozen chicken breasts one bottle of jack Daniel's barbeque and about a half cup of honey mustard. I didn't have Worcestershire so I added a table spoon of soy sauce and a table spoon of rice vinegar. Cooked it for 4 hours on high after about 3 hours I shredded the chicken to make sure the chicken absorbed all the delicious liquid. I wish I had the Italian dressing to add to this but I was out unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I substituted Italian dressing with Sweet Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing, added an onion, and I also slowly added a little corn starch when it was almost done to thicken it up (otherwise it would've been too runny). Served on Ciabatta bread. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Love this recipe and make it often. The first time I followed it exactly and was not thrilled with the results. It was way too sweet for me. The BBQ sauce I used was sweet baby rays original so maybe thats why. I had to add a lot of salt to cut the sweetness and I also added crush red pepper flakes. Now when I make it I only do 1 tbs of the brown sugar. I also add about 1tbs of the crushed red pepper flakes and about 1tsp of salt. Also a reviewer commented on that the chicken should be thawed not frozen- I have made it both ways just because 1 time I only had fresh chicken. It works fine either way. If its thawed you just cut back on the cooking time. Also, this recipe does not address actually making this BBQ. I check the chicken when I think it is cooked through and take it out and shred it and then place it back into the crock pot to simmer another 30-45 minutes to soak everything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EraErica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
So easy and so good! I took the suggestion of adding liquid smoke and also garlic. I serve it on rolls with coleslaw. Perfect meal when it's too hot to be in the kitchen. And the leftovers are - if there are any - are even better! Thanks for sharing this, Zanne Tastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was juicy and fall apart good. I added an onion and some garlic. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It was absolutely delicious! My husband grunted while eating... he rarely does that! And I loved that it cooked while I was at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States