Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is restaurant quality BBQ and it was a big hit during the Super Bowl. Could not have had a better meal during the game. The only differences to the recipe I made were the following: I used thawed chicken, and I sauteed chopped onions (half an onion) before adding them to the crock pot, and I also added 4 cloves of pressed garlic to the sauce. I used Jack Daniel's Honey Smokehouse BBQ sauce. Cooked on low 4 hours, then removed chicken to pull it, added it back and cooked on low for another hour. Added about 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken, since sauce was slightly more watery than I liked - but it thickened up very nicely during the last hour. Delicious and will definitely be making this recipe again in the future. It also could not have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Really wasn't impressed. Too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I put 4 frozen chicken thighs and 2 frozen chicken breasts in the crock pot with some chicken broth and chopped onion with some salt, pepper and a heavy sprinkle of BBQ rub. Cooked on low until I got home from work. Strained the chicken/onion from the broth, pulled off the skin, deboned the thighs and shredded the chicken. Back into the crock pot with onions and added the BBQ sauce mixture until it was warmed through. Nice taste of BBQ in the winter - makes me long for the summer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Kids love this recipe. I added two teaspoons of crushed red pepper and served them on sweet rolls with slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damien Neville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I love this recipe! I've made this a bunch of times and it's perfect because I never remember to take chicken out of the freezer to defrost... I like to use Sweet Baby Ray's sweet and spicey BBQ sauce, but I don't add brown sugar. I'm not a fan of super sweet BBQ chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I also used fresh chicken breast and it turned out perfect!! I actually added some more BBQ sauce at the end of cooking because the shredded breast did absorb the as use well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I halved the entire recipe (3 breasts + half all the ingredients) and found it lacked flavor. We had it on low for 6 hours, shredded the chicken and added the 2nd half of the BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's), put it back in for another 2 hours on low, then turned it to Warm. The chicken was a bit dry - maybe it was in for too long - just not enough flavor. I'd be willing to try it again though given everyone else's great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe was pretty amazing! I followed the recipe with little additions we like garlic so I added a little in while cooking my husband and I like a little heat with our food so on our own sandwiches we but a bit of horseradish , shredding the chicken at the end and letting it cook in the juice the last hour really helps with the "to juicy problem". Both of my children 12 and 2 ate and loved it..I didn't think my 2 year old was going to eat it but proved me wrong while eating a sandwich and a half! I plan on making this again give it a try soooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I tried this recipe earlier this week and it was fantastic. Not too sweet at all. Yesterday, I made another batch and added a few pineapple chunks. I let my neighbor try some and he said that it was "awesome".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillip Evans
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Loved it - and it fed us for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States