Zesty Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I was a little disappointed based on the other reviews here. I thought this was way too salty, and the citrus from the limes was overpowering. If I make it again, I'd likely cut the salt and citrus in half. Also, I'm not sure the 1/4 cup of oil was worth the added calories. I may cut that by 1/2 as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wow! This was outstanding! I only used one tsp. of cumin, but followed the rest faithfully. I also served it warm because I tried it on a fall evening. Can't wait to taste it cold. Very very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisawas
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is my absolute favorite quinoa recipe! I have been looking for one my whole family would eat and not only did they like this...they asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisawas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a great recipe for summer parties. I'm sorry I followed some of the suggestions. I had no problem with the amount of lime juice, oil, or salt, but then I doubled the recipe, used a can of black beans and a can of garbanzo beans, used fresh tomatoes vs. canned, and added cucumbers, fresh minced garlic, and a little honey. I would caution folks to cook the quinoa al dente lest the salad becomes mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This recipe was quick and easy and AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! I made a couple changes to suit my taste... I cooked the Quinoa in vegetable broth, I used only 1/2 tsp salt and closer to 2 tsp of crushed red peppers. Then I added diced avocado. This will become a regular dish in my house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bodega Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Here are the changes i recommend: I first toasted the quinoa for about 10 minutes with a little olive oil. I also upped the quinoa to 1.25 cups (but same 2 cups water). I only used one lime. I added about a cup of fresh white corn (2 ears). I topped the dish with diced avocado. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aaron
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Loved everything about this dish. The lime juice, red pepper flakes, and cumin make an otherwise simple dish taste zesty and complex. Instead of canned black beans, I cooked my own (VERY low sodium this way) along with garbanzo beans (chickpeas) and edamame. I used 3/4 cup each black and garbanzo beans and 1/2 cup edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Outstanding combination of flavors. I haven't been a Quinoa fan until this salad. I concluded I prefer Quinoa cooked a little on the al-dente side so I cooked it for 10 minutes and then strained (to remove the excess liquid) and cooled it in a mesh colander. Used a combination of red and white Quinoa, sundried tomatoes to taste instead of fresh and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Perfect! Delicious fresh made and delicious after it's been chilled. This salad is "company" worthy and one I know I'll be enjoying often on its own or as a side when grilling. Thanks scrumdiddly for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Brought this to a Memorial Day celebration where no one had tried quinoa before. Everyone loved this salad! It's easy, refreshing and versatile. I followed the recipe with minor adjustments after reading the reviews: Used 1 and 1/2 cup quinoa, 3 cups water, 1 and 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp salt. Used about 1/3 cup red onion instead of green onion. I loved and will make again. Can't wait to try it with fresh corn or cucumbers, diced red/yellow peppers or sundried tomato. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
OMG! I have never cooked Quinoa before and this was the first recipe I have tried. I followed the recipe and would not change a thing. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States