Zesty Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I was a little disappointed based on the other reviews here. I thought this was way too salty, and the citrus from the limes was overpowering. If I make it again, I'd likely cut the salt and citrus in half. Also, I'm not sure the 1/4 cup of oil was worth the added calories. I may cut that by 1/2 as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wow! This was outstanding! I only used one tsp. of cumin, but followed the rest faithfully. I also served it warm because I tried it on a fall evening. Can't wait to taste it cold. Very very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisawas
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is my absolute favorite quinoa recipe! I have been looking for one my whole family would eat and not only did they like this...they asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisawas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a great recipe for summer parties. I'm sorry I followed some of the suggestions. I had no problem with the amount of lime juice, oil, or salt, but then I doubled the recipe, used a can of black beans and a can of garbanzo beans, used fresh tomatoes vs. canned, and added cucumbers, fresh minced garlic, and a little honey. I would caution folks to cook the quinoa al dente lest the salad becomes mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Here are the changes i recommend: I first toasted the quinoa for about 10 minutes with a little olive oil. I also upped the quinoa to 1.25 cups (but same 2 cups water). I only used one lime. I added about a cup of fresh white corn (2 ears). I topped the dish with diced avocado. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This recipe was quick and easy and AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! I made a couple changes to suit my taste... I cooked the Quinoa in vegetable broth, I used only 1/2 tsp salt and closer to 2 tsp of crushed red peppers. Then I added diced avocado. This will become a regular dish in my house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bodega Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aaron
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Loved everything about this dish. The lime juice, red pepper flakes, and cumin make an otherwise simple dish taste zesty and complex. Instead of canned black beans, I cooked my own (VERY low sodium this way) along with garbanzo beans (chickpeas) and edamame. I used 3/4 cup each black and garbanzo beans and 1/2 cup edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Outstanding combination of flavors. I haven't been a Quinoa fan until this salad. I concluded I prefer Quinoa cooked a little on the al-dente side so I cooked it for 10 minutes and then strained (to remove the excess liquid) and cooled it in a mesh colander. Used a combination of red and white Quinoa, sundried tomatoes to taste instead of fresh and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Perfect! Delicious fresh made and delicious after it's been chilled. This salad is "company" worthy and one I know I'll be enjoying often on its own or as a side when grilling. Thanks scrumdiddly for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Brought this to a Memorial Day celebration where no one had tried quinoa before. Everyone loved this salad! It's easy, refreshing and versatile. I followed the recipe with minor adjustments after reading the reviews: Used 1 and 1/2 cup quinoa, 3 cups water, 1 and 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp salt. Used about 1/3 cup red onion instead of green onion. I loved and will make again. Can't wait to try it with fresh corn or cucumbers, diced red/yellow peppers or sundried tomato. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
OMG! I have never cooked Quinoa before and this was the first recipe I have tried. I followed the recipe and would not change a thing. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States