Zesty Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
My boys went crazy over these. One said I should make this recipe every night.... wow, that is the best review he's ever given! I read many of the reviews and took away my own set of enhancements which are: 1. added 1/4 t garlic powder for flavor, 2. added 1/2 t crushed red pepper for zing, 3. added about 2 T of bread crumbs, just because I thought it would make it go a bit further, and many people recommended this to help keep together, 4. added 1 1/2 t Worcestershire sauce to the meatballs (did anyone else notice the mistake in the recipe, where she says add "remainder" of Worcestershire sauce to the tomato soup, but she never mentioned how much to add to the meatballs in the first place), 5. reduced amount of Worcestershire sauce added in the soup to 2 T, because most said it was overpowering. Also, I thought it would be easier to bake, so I did at 350 degrees, covered, for 35 minutes (just poured the sauce over my 1 inch meatballs). Many reviewers seems to have grown up on these and from those reviewers, I learned it is traditionally served over mashed potatoes, which was awesome. Try the soup before you jump to substituting tomato sauce... the flavor was really good, slightly different than old standard of bathing them in tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I wasn't too thrilled with these. I used the entire amount of Worcestershire sauce, but the sauce was still a bit too sweet. I wouldn't use the word "zesty" to describe these. Maybe a bit tangy, but not really zesty. Also, I didn't have instant rice, so I used 1/2 cup regular cooked rice -- because I looked online and apparently, 1/4 cup uncooked instant rice will equal 1/2 cup cooked rice. Mine didn't turn out dry, but I did add an extra Tbs. of sauce to the meat mixture. But one mistake I did make was to brown the meatballs in a pan coated with olive oil on high heat. They burnt very quickly. So then I transferred them to a casserole dish and baked at 400 degrees F for about 50 minutes. I had to cover them with foil towards the end, though, because they started to burn a little. I will make these again only if my toddler likes them. That's the true test. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as posted and it needs flavor. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a good recipe as is. Try adding minced garlic, another spoon of soup, and a splash of worcestershire to the meatballs. Brown them very slowly over low heat. Add another can of soup, green pepper strips, minced garlic and carrot slices to the meatballs and simmer until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
These are amazing.I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have made this twice it always seems to go over well. I always double it and freeze some. I use slightly less Worcestershire sauce than it calls for. One time I made it and substituted 1 (soup size) can of spaghetti sauce - because I was short on the tomato soup and it tasted good that way too. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Easy, tasty and cheap. Added more instant rice and browned in a skillet cooked for 3 hours on high in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hokker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
When I made this recipe I decided to make it slightly healthier by adding finely chopped carrots and celery to the meatballs--this did not affect the flavor nor the appearance- my family did not even know. I added a dash of salt, figuring there is plenty of salt in the tomato soup & worcestershire sauce. I served the porcupine meatballs over Quinoa, which is healthy & tasted really good with this dish--in fact, my finicky husband liked it better than when I make it over rice. The last change I made was to put the formed meatballs in my casserole dish, cover them with the soup/sauce mix, & bake them in a 350 degree F oven for 45 minutes covered & then I uncovered them & baked for 15 more minutes. This way, no browning was required & it simplified the preparation!! They were so tasty--my entire family went back for seconds--definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ceresco, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this receipe. Definitely needs more sauce, maybe 4 cans of soup and 1/2 c worchestshire sauce. I also mix, put on a chopping board and then cut out my meatballs. 20 minutes at 400 without sauce, then add sauce for an additional 10 to heat up and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Growing up in the 70's/early 80's, this dinner brought me down memory lane. A quick scan of the ingredients told me I'd need to spruce up the seasonings in the dish, which is always an easy fix for those of us who like spices. I "spiced up" both the hamburger mixture as well as the soup mixture with eyeballed amounts of onion/garlic powders, black pepper, and Lawry's (in the hamburger mix only), as well as 1/4 c breadcrumbs. I subbed out an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce since I only had 1 can of tomato soup (I used Campbell's Tomato Bisque), but I'd prefer using only the tomato soup next time. I also used the entire 1/4 c of worchestershire since I love it, and added a few pinches of brown sugar to my tomato mixture. Served over white rice, along with a quick green pepper & onion stir-fry. A tad more time-consuming than I'd like for a busy weeknight, but a delicious change-up for weekend meals. Thanks for the throwback meal memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States