Zesty Hominy and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
A unique and delicious dish. I substituted nonfat palin yogurt for the sour cream and 50% reduced fat Irish white cheddar for the regular cheddar. It was fabulous so I can imagine how the full fat version tastes. This could be a real conversation piece at a pot luck..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
So simple and so tasty! I did add a little extra cheese but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Also this freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This was great - I made it for my mom and she loved it. I will use this at potlucks from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for several years after I tried it at a church potluck. This recipe is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This was quite good!! I used non fat plain yogurt rather than sourcream and fat-free cheddar. I added low-fat mozzarella, too! Oh, this was very tasty! I'll definately make it again... and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
We liked this alot....it's always nice to find something fun to do with hominy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I LOVE hominy! Only had 2 cans in the house, so used those 2 cans plus 1 can of the "summer crisp" corn. Brought it to work to share, since my hubby hates hominy (but not as much as he hates squash). Most people at work wouldn't touch it...(Never realized how many people have a "hominy phobia". LOL) But those who were fond of it loved it and asked for the recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Try this recipe, using golden hominy instead of white hominy. Over the years, I have learned that people who think they don't like hominy have no problem with eating golden hominy. Possibly, because the color is not so blah! I grew up thinking that if you like corn--you like hominy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Quite good. My mom complained that it was so fattening. She ate it, though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Super easy and delicious! I served this to my unsuspecting, hominy-phobic boyfriend (who was eyeing it warily in the suspicion of it being old mac and cheese or some other unpleasantness) and he ate every bite. I didn’t have any chile peppers and I don’t like cayenne peppers so mine was probably blander than others but it was yummy anyway. I used sour cream but next time will try the plain yogurt to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States