Zesty Hominy and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Try this recipe, using golden hominy instead of white hominy. Over the years, I have learned that people who think they don't like hominy have no problem with eating golden hominy. Possibly, because the color is not so blah! I grew up thinking that if you like corn--you like hominy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This was quite good!! I used non fat plain yogurt rather than sourcream and fat-free cheddar. I added low-fat mozzarella, too! Oh, this was very tasty! I'll definately make it again... and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I LOVE hominy! Only had 2 cans in the house, so used those 2 cans plus 1 can of the "summer crisp" corn. Brought it to work to share, since my hubby hates hominy (but not as much as he hates squash). Most people at work wouldn't touch it...(Never realized how many people have a "hominy phobia". LOL) But those who were fond of it loved it and asked for the recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for several years after I tried it at a church potluck. This recipe is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Quite good. My mom complained that it was so fattening. She ate it, though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
A unique and delicious dish. I substituted nonfat palin yogurt for the sour cream and 50% reduced fat Irish white cheddar for the regular cheddar. It was fabulous so I can imagine how the full fat version tastes. This could be a real conversation piece at a pot luck..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I grew up eating something very similar to this - and loved it! Unfortunately, it was my Granmother who made it, and she never wrote anything down! Tried this, followed the recipe exactly - and it's very, very similar to hers. Thanks for posting it! Yum! And the whole family enjoyed it. It is a little on the heavy side - but this was never an "every day" item in our house anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
My husband and I loved it. The kids not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
Good for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I read some reviews B4 making this & I'm glad I did b/c I used some of the ideas another viewer had....some adjustments I used: 1 can white, 1 can yellow hominy, added some Velveeta cheese, jalapeno pieces, chopped & sauteed onion, omitted the green chiles & cayeenne pepper , & added other seasonings (dill, chives, salt & pepper) substituted the sour cream for 4oz ...cream cheese & sprinkled it w/shredded cheddar cheese. It was so good the rest of my family that doesn't like hominy ate this & had more! My 19 month old even liked it until she got a bite of the jalapeno & my 11 yr old had 2nds :) I will be making this all the time & sharing it w/others..... THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Willis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States